Item Reviews for: Sennheiser MD421II Dynamic Microphone  -  SEN MD421II LIST

Perfect Microphone for Guitars and Toms
By: Jonathan Sanchez      Submitted: 9/5/2019

Product Rating




Product Rating Product Review Perfecto Microphone for guitars and drums toms, already reamp several tracks with it, i love it
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
The best mic for recording drum toms.
By: William Mousser      Submitted: 5/7/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Always believed in these mics. They give you a great sound with little or no alterations
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Well worth the investment!
By: Adiel      Submitted: 5/6/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Took me a while to decide on which mics to buy for my toms and ending up buying 3 of these mics. They sound great. Thus far I am satisfied with the results. Price is up there but for the sound it’s worth the cost.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great microphone
By: Erickson Smith      Submitted: 11/14/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review My first time using the Md421 on my David Eden bass rig an was I surprise. Bass was pumping direct in your chest. This MUST to have in your collection of microphones. You won’t regret ait at all.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Love this mic
By: MDot islandlink studio      Submitted: 9/6/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Great Mic for toms
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great Dynamic Mic
By: Tim      Submitted: 9/5/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I really enjoy using this mic. Highly recommended. I use it for a lot of different sources, including vocals (and of course, guitars and toms.) I've owned some of the older versions and I like the newer ones because they are consistent. I currently own 3 of these.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
421 is one of the best
By: TEXAS STRAT HOUSE      Submitted: 8/9/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review We got two or these because they are a standard for tomorrow mics and they work better then so many other mics on the market. Ams has been helping us for many years now and they are probably the best thing that can happen to a working studio team. Many Thanks to our friends at AMS.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Bad-ass!
By: George Martinez      Submitted: 6/25/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Love it! It works great with SM57!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Pretty darn great
By: David from Grand Junction, Colorado, USA, dsilvano92@yahoo.com      Submitted: 9/19/2010

Product Rating










I haven't had it for too long but it seems to be a well built german made mic. This microphone is a wonderful dynamic microphone. I really enjoy the five setting rolloff feature. You can have everything from a nice rich low end, to a crisp nice high end. It's a very simple cardioid only microphone. Just plug it in make sure everything else is on and set how you want. Like I said, the tone is versatile. I use it primarily for recording guitar and bass cabs but it is also good on toms, radio broadcasting and even kick drum.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Another got to have mic.
By: Gates from Saint Joseph, Michigan      Submitted: 4/12/2009

Product Rating










These are built lighter than they used to be but still very solid The 5 way bass roll off is very nice. There are no instructions on what the roll off positions represent(hence the 4 on ease of use) Classic 421, slightly bright, slightly open.Sounds pretty darn good on anything you'll use it on. This is a industry standard mic for guitar cabs, bass cabs and drums. You can't go wrong with this mic.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
A GORGEOUS GODDESS FOR DRUMS, BASS CABS, AND INSANE METAL VOCALS
By: CHAZ from NEW JERSEY      Submitted: 1/28/2009

Product Rating










BUILT LIKE A BRICK HOUSE, I HAVE ANOTHER ONE FROM THE EARLY 80'S, VERY WELL MADE AND SOLID, MY OLDER ONE IS HEAVY ENOUGH TO USE AS A DOORSTOP, SHE STILL SOUNDS AMAZING THE BASS ROLL-OFF SWITCH ALLOWS MANY SOUND COLORS-NOTMUCH MORE TO ASK FOR HERE SUPER EASY TO SET UP AND USE, THE OLD STYLE CLIP ADAPTER TO MOUNT ON A REG STAND IS A TOTAL PAIN IN THE BUTT, THIS CLIP BREAKS OFF OR IS LOST, IT'S NOT GOOD, SENNHEISER MUST DESIGN A SEMI-OR TOTAL SHOCK MOUNT FOR THIS ONE, IT IS AN OBSOLETE MOUNT FOR THIS MIC THUNDER ON TOMS AND SNARE, VERY NICE ON BASS AND GUITAR CABS, CLOSE TO AN RE20 ON KICK DRUMS, GREAT FOR THRASH METAL LEAD VOCALS AND HOWLS/SCREAMS
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
The Go To Mic For Floor Toms
By: Eric M. from Houston, TX      Submitted: 1/7/2009

Product Rating










These micropohones are well made. The only design issue is you have to have the sennheiser clip to mount the mic properly. The high DB SPL of this mic are incredible. I first ran into this microphone about 12 years ago recording a drummer. We had some Shure 57s but nothing we had worked on the floor tom. The floor tom had no bite and sounded like wet tissue paper. I obtained one of these microphones and instantenously the floor toms roared to life. Also outstanding on lower end toms. I've also used this microphone as a vocal microphone. This microphone was used in the 1960s as a vocal microphone. Though a decent condensor will be a better choice for vocals, this will do and works well on male voices. No issues at all. It's all about the tone. The best microphone I have ever heard on a floor tom and low-toms on a drum kit.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Its all in the ears...
By: Zef from South NJ near philly      Submitted: 2/5/2008

Product Rating










Your general opinion of this product.

QUALITY:
Great mic for toms.. and for those of us who's voice dont sound so good useing sub $500 COndenser mics.. this mic ROCKS!

FEATURES:
Has the bass cut off........ great for toms... and vocals too if need be.

EASE OF USE:
Plug and play............. Kinda hard to screw that up huh?

VALUE:
shhhh.... dont tell anyone but Id but Id pay $600 for this mic... just keep it on the Down and low....

SOUND:
Again for those of us that have the MXL V69, and the MXL 2001P, and have tried the lower end Shure dynamic mics... and found they didnt work out for the best... this mic is THE ONE for vocals.

STYLE:
Metallica/ doom metal voice playing over doom metal W/ orchestra

MUSIC EXPERIENCE:
Been recording music for 10 years

OVERALL:
This mic is just wicked. Used in radio stations all over earth, used on talk radio, used for TV ads, Used to record tom drums and voc
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback