Item Reviews for: Seymour Duncan PowerStage 170 Guitar Amplifier 170 Watt  -  SEY 11901002 LIST

A must have for amp modelers!
By: Jim Dewd Guitars      Submitted: 7/22/2019

Product Rating




Product Rating Product Review I have an unpowered Kemper toaster and was using my EVH 5150 III 50W amp to power it through the effects loop. My tubes recently went out and I was forced to play through headphones only for the time being so I started researching power Amps and found that for me playing in my bedroom I wouldn't need a ton of wattage. I looked around and for the best quality and price I found the Seymour Duncan powerstage 170 would be the best way to go. So I ordered it on a Friday from American musical supply and it arrived 22 hours later! Huge props to AMS and FedEx for that by that way. So I hooked it up and it was like nothing is ever heard before. Not only was it 120 watts louder than my tube amp it made my Kemper sound WAY BETTER! I can feel the power with each strum and my profiles sound amazing. I have barely gotten the power on the Duncan past half way and I love the 3 band EQ to make your tone sound just the way you want. This is Definitely enough power to play on stage and power my 4X12 cab and overall I couldn't be happier. I cannot recommend them enough, Seymour Duncan is such an amazing company and I will only use it to power my cab from now on even after I replace tubes in my amp. Try one you won't be disappointed! Also I have a demo video of it on my YouTube channel Jim dewd guitars if you would like to hear how it sounds with a kemper.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Compact, sturdy and powerful
By: Pete      Submitted: 5/25/2019

Product Rating




Product Review This unit is great. It's small and light enough to fit in any gig bag side pocket. I use it with my Helix and never had to turn it above 10 o'clock on the level. The built in EQ can be dialed in for any room or cabinet your are using to get your tone!!! Deciding on whether to pick up a second or upgrade to the 700.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Small yet powerful
By: Chris      Submitted: 4/26/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Impressive to say the least. Fits on my powertrain board. 170 watts(solid state) power amp. Put a decent preamp in front of it and it sounds amazing. Be careful with the bass mid and treble controls..it goes from none to extreme. Very responsive and clean sounding. Just a reverb in front of it sounds great. I am normally a tube guy but I’m sold on the size and sound of this pedal!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Dont let size fool you.
By: Gary Cooper      Submitted: 3/26/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I used this in 2 applications. The first was to power the Line 6 Helix with a 4x12 cab. Tons of punch and headroom, more than enough EQ ability and very loud. The second and current application is to slave off of a 1973 Marshall Super Lead and THD Hotplate to a second 'wet' side of the guitar rig. Again this does not disappoint!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
I love this item, I can't believe that you have that much power and such a small box
By: Bryan Maples      Submitted: 3/5/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I run it with my helix and my sound is phenomenal, I play every weekend and it always sounds awesome every time I use it
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Best Power Amp for Modelers
By: Alexander Belville      Submitted: 1/6/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review The power stage 170 provides everything I need for my L 6 Helix LT. I run the 170 into a 2x12 cab, and I get the best tones out of my Helix. It is very very loud, and transparent. You wont find any other power amp as good for the price. I highly recommend it. I forgot to mention that it fits on my pedal board.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
well worth the money
By: marz sentimo      Submitted: 12/27/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review very nice sounding amp , so handy thanks ams for a fast shipping
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great for practice.
By: Nik      Submitted: 12/8/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I like tube amps. That’s a fact. I’m too old to change my mind. No one is ever going to make a solid state amp that I’m going to enjoy as much as a tube amp. That being said, I like this amp too. It’s not going to replace a black face fender or $3000 boutique build. But it is great to have around for an impromptu jam or small club show. I keep it on a pedal board with a few dirt boxes, some modulation pedals, and a e.q. I can get a pretty great tone from it with the right settings. Plus I’ve got a 1 year old that takes a lot of naps, and this thing gets real quiet. I plug it into a 1x15 can and noodle around at home or with friends and it does the trick, especially if you put a little reverb and low gain o.d. In front of it. Is it worth $400? To me yes. It’s a small solid state amp with superb cleans and does what it’s suppose to do well. But I’ve also got tube amps for a more harmonically rich tone. I wouldn’t buy it as my main amp, but for small gigs and ease of use it’s a total winner
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Very Loud from this Little thing
By: Andres Diaz      Submitted: 9/26/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I bought this preamp with the idea of using it with my fractal audio ax8. Anyone that knows why will know that it works well with Amp Modelers to get that stage sound from your own cab. I have used it with and with my fractal. It is loud enough for practice with a full band.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Simple and powerful!
By: Chris Wilcox      Submitted: 9/6/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review After using everything from Crate, to Marshall, to Hughes and Kettner, and Mesa Boogie I absolutely love the powerstage. Being able to have a good solid clean tone and adjust my effect pedals to get the optimal tone from them, has made compartmentalizing my gear so easy.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback