Item Reviews for: Universal Audio Apollo Twin MKII Quad Thunderbolt Audio Interface  -  UAD APTWINQUADMK2 LIST

Easy controls
By: Vernon Lane      Submitted: 9/5/2019

Product Rating




Product Rating Product Review This is the best investment I ever made towards my studio very small device that doesn’t take up a lot of space, easy to control and use, effects and plugins are stellar quality and easy to figure out
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Sound Quality Is Fantastic
By: Charles Brady,musictoradio@gmail.com      Submitted: 8/29/2019

Product Rating




Product Review I've had several recording interfaces in the past but this Apollo Twin unit is just awesome! The step up in the quality of recordings is dramatically better with the Apollo Twin and it's one purchase that I really haven't regretted. The included plugins from Universal Audio really make this a no-brainer purchase. Is it more expensive? YES. Is it worth the higher price tag? YES!!! The quality of the unit is evident from the moment you unbox it. A heavy little sucker with an awesome feeling knob and the little extra's like the locking power cord can be a life saver. Ever pulled a power plug loose in the middle of a recording? YES I HAVE. Will it ever happen again? NO IT WON'T! LOL!! Being able to plug an instrument straight into the unit also makes this perfect for the singer/songwriter crowd. And the extra power from the Quad will keep your machine running smooth as you let the Apollo Twin take some of that processing load off your system.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
The clarity of this interface is astounding.
By: Randall Reed      Submitted: 8/10/2019

Product Rating




Product Review It's like a breath of fresh air to me. Coming from a 3rd gen mbox (which i was getting a good quality mix from) this had my head spinning in circles for a second. I heard all the flaws i missed before, all the imperfections in recordings showing their ugly face. The preamp isn't sold short either, i've definitely had a big childish smile on my face as of late whenever recording. Once you get used to it's functionality it becomes easy to use in both recording and mixing. Not to mention the plugins which speak for themselves in the best way possible. This particular interface bends the phrase "its not the gear it's the ear". Whereas the ear is the alpha and omega in the situation... a good interface/monitor setup is a huge cheat code for the ear. (plus the payment plan was super convenient *blink blink*)
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Increased workflow
By: Derrico      Submitted: 8/6/2019

Product Rating




Product Review Great interface, perfect for your home studio setup. I’m not fully aware of everything this interface can do but the plugins that are included make this a very tough competitor when searching for an interface!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
It would not be possible if not for American Music Supply
By: KINGZAGE MUZAK      Submitted: 7/29/2019

Product Rating




Product Review The apollo quad duo is a supernatural beast when it come to any type of music production. Universal Audio has out did themselves with the plugins for the apollo. My mixes are more life like and industry standard to say the least,the apollo has given me the confidence to tackle those big projects and step in the ring with the big boys delivering a knock out sound everytime.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Work horse
By: Jonathan Campbell      Submitted: 7/5/2019

Product Rating




Product Review This interface is everything!!!! Seriously my ONLY gripe wit it is that the thunderbolt cable is not included everything else is spot on love how easy it is to use.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
This things a BEAST
By: Trevis      Submitted: 6/24/2019

Product Rating




Product Review This apollo quad is a beast, runs one of my favorite amps like the Manley voxbox as if I had it physically with me, came with some nice plug ins and instead of me using majority of the processing power on my laptop, it handles it on its own. I definitely recommend
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
This is a Game-Changer!
By: KannyShine      Submitted: 6/11/2019

Product Rating




Product Review Coming from using the 002 for my home studio to the UA Apollo Twin MKII Quad is life changing. I've heard great things about the Apollo Twin Quad but it wasn't until I purchased my own that I learned how powerful, necessary and user friendly this unit is. I love the low latency and the ability to use plugins live. The plug-ins are "Amazing!" If you're looking for a game-hanger "This Is It!"
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Most amazing plugins
By: Brian      Submitted: 6/7/2019

Product Rating




Product Review After a rough start with getting it to work with my Dell XPS, I'm very glad I persisted. This thing is incredible. The ability to not only record with world class plugins on the way in is cool, but also any time you use one of the plugins in your session, the processing power is done on the apollo, leaving your computer free of load. I particularly like using the plugins on my 2bus, and for my heavy fx like revers and delays, which sound incredible. If you do buy this for a PC, make sure to follow UA's guide to a T, and it will work.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
The UA plugin’s with the DSP chip technology sound amazing.
By: Dave G      Submitted: 6/6/2019

Product Rating




Product Review On top of the expandability for 8 more inputs and the ability to free up computing power from your CPU, with the DSP chip, the quality of the the plugins are amazing. I still use some of my waves plugins, but not nearly as much as I use to. I converted over as many as I could to UA’s ASAP they sound way better to me.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Quality
By: Robert Holman      Submitted: 6/5/2019

Product Rating




Product Review I’ll be receiving my peace of equipment tomorrow but the dreams I've had are the future .I’ve experienced so much power with my Apollo quad interface that I didn’t want to wake up until my doorbell ring with my package. The preamps had my vocals sounding so rich and professional and the processing of the Apollo gave me every bit of the award winning plugins I used recording my hit record with Ariana Agrande and Drake . Wow I’m living my best life in this dream I’ve sold my MBox 3 and my presonus channel strip compressor.I have more speaker options better compressors in my plugins and I have mic talk back no no don’t wake me now oops doorbell welcome home Universal audio Apollo twin MKII Quad Thunderbolt my beautiful audio interface welcome to the family.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
UA Apollo Twin Magic
By: David I      Submitted: 5/25/2019

Product Rating




Product Review I purchased the UA Apollo twin and Presonus Software after seeing a few fellow musicians using it and listening to some incredible results. I had been using Protools for ever. Well after a few weeks of use, this is the most productive piece of equipment I have ever laid my hands on. 10 Stars to UA. I’m a huge fan now!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Portable, Sounds Amazing, Plugins are the best!
By: Jj      Submitted: 5/25/2019

Product Rating




Product Review I purchased the Apollo twin for editing and mixing on the go. I also own an apollo x16 and with the twin I can use alll my plugins and have enough dsp. I would recommend it to anyone looking for an interface. I haven't tried the preamps yet but looking forward to. So far my apollo twin works really good. The sound Quality is really good on the headphone amp.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Best Brand Out, worth every dime!
By: Cameron Miller      Submitted: 4/26/2019

Product Rating




Product Review Apollo is a game changer
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great piece of gear
By: Jerald Brooks      Submitted: 4/8/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Top notch product. Universal audio did a fantastic job with this. Audio is clear and pristine. Should have been bought this.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
I had the Apollo twin and duo and loved them both and I can’t wait to use the quad to make more hits
By: Major Work      Submitted: 4/5/2019

Product Rating




Product Review I love this thing, great quality and crisp sounds. Highly recommend????
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Best love the professional quality it brings
By: Dj blaze      Submitted: 3/5/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review More free plugins
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
"Undeniably Impressive"
By: HTNT      Submitted: 2/23/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review American Music Supply is my go to for recording equipment . Thanks to your flexible payments , Apollo Twin MKII QUAD has enter the building , turning a hole in the wall into a professional sounding glass studio on stilts , the functionality alone makes it worth it , the added DSP power and amazingly well emulated plug-ins just crush the completion !! Well done Universal Audio
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Worth every penny
By: Alex Hooks      Submitted: 2/22/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Would be a 5 star but the plugins are extremely expensive. Awesome tone and function.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
I love this thing great sound quality and very compact!!!
By: CHARLES Oaties      Submitted: 2/22/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Great sound and compact doesn’t take hardly any space!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
"I love this thing". Upgraded my sound to "Totally Professional"
By: Terrance Nelson      Submitted: 2/4/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review The Unison pre-amps do a great job of emulating real world mic-pre's
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
I love this thing
By: Robel Ghiorghis      Submitted: 1/30/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Excellent
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Best Mobile Interface On The Market
By: Kenneth Gladden      Submitted: 1/30/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Great sound, well built, plug in processing all in one sleek looking package. What more do you want! Also when your ready to upgrade your set up to an Apollo you can use it in tandem as a remote, how cool is that! 10 stars in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great product crisp quality!
By: Jaden      Submitted: 1/30/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This product is great especially when paired with my Apollo rack 8p, they work together seamlessly and make it simple to plug in instruments and control your monitors as well as the preamps of any instrument or mic connected.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
It is a beast!
By: Emmanuel      Submitted: 1/25/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review If you want that polished sound look no further! The quad has the juice that you need. I loved the speed from thunderbolt and the plugins are amazing. Very happy with my purchase and the customer service at American Musical Supply!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Don’t think I ever fell in love this hard ..
By: Juan zavala      Submitted: 1/24/2019

Product Rating




Product Review First off, I really want to thank the staff at American musical supply for being some of the best and supportive staff there is! From handling my paying option problems to helping me get everything right and making sure I had all my information right and for also feeding me more information on the product I was interested in buying! The Apollo twin is hands down the best audio interface that’s out right now! Tho it is a little bit pricey it is well worth having! American music supply offers different payment options which is in the range for everyone who is on a budget like me! Thanks for giving those on a budget an opportunity to have some of the best equipment on earth AMS !!! You guys are effin great!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great addition to my x8p!!!
By: Greg Morales III      Submitted: 1/5/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Got the twin quad to go with my x8p to use as my desk top controller, 4 more DSP and now it's easy to work away from the studio! The UA plug ins are amazing too!! Glad I chose to go the UA Apollo route!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Invest in yourself
By: Mike McConaghy      Submitted: 1/5/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Get yourself good gear! You deserve. If you are committed, buy something good and prove it. Universal Audio is next level. I recommend all of their units. Do it!!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Game Changer
By: Rick Romeus,rromeus@gmail.com      Submitted: 1/5/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review The Apollo twin has taken my sound to a new level. Everything sounds more clear and together. The plug ins are phenomenal. I highly recommend the Apollo twin.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Everything I hope it would be
By: Ikediesel      Submitted: 12/27/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I've only done one track with their plug INS and so far the clarity on this thing is amazing.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Universal Audio wins again!
By: Quinn      Submitted: 11/27/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This thing packs a big punch in a little footprint. I was in the market for a new interface and had been looking at these for awhile. When I decided to pull the trigger on it I was blown away at how much processing power it had and how much cpu resouryit frees up. The plugins are top notch. The amp sims are the very best I’ve heard. I was skeptical at first but owning some of these amps and giving it the old “A/B” test I couldn’t tell which was the plugin and which was the live amp anymore.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
One word — Breathtaking!
By: Jericho      Submitted: 11/21/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I have to say, I didn’t believe it all. The hype, the press, the hundreds of favourable reviews on literally every single website... it just seemed a little too good to be true. Until I held this thing in my hand and tried it for myself, and WOW! I used an Apogee Duet 2 as my go-to in the past, and this just made it seem like a toy. The seamless integration of hardware and software powering the Unison technology made me truly feel like my little studio setup was just that much closer to what the “pros” have at their disposal. And don’t even get me started on UAD plugins. Now, my tracking and mixing sessions benefit from the QUAD processing power of the MkII, and I’m constantly gasping for air, because... breathless.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
I love it
By: Joshua mccorkle      Submitted: 11/6/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I’m content with it.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Sounds great
By: anthony boyd      Submitted: 11/6/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I had been hearing a number of people say get the Apollo and how clean it is...l figured l didn't need it since l have nice equipment already. One day l decided to buy it from you guys and wow...the sound is open,clean and warm. The plugins also are great. I have the Apollo twin quad core version which sounds super.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Fantastic!
By: rocknguitar      Submitted: 10/10/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This thing is fantastic. From all the vintage replicated gear, to the lay out. I definitely recommend this product!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Love It!
By: MusicMann      Submitted: 9/27/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Rock solid drivers,user friendly interface I love the flexibility of the Apollo Twin MKII. I use it in conjunction with my Apollo 8. Hands down my favorite recording setup and I’ve been recording for over twenty years.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
I love the update!
By: Allen Joseph aka The Real DJ A.P.      Submitted: 9/26/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review It is a amazing update to the original Apollo Twin! I needed the monitor switch, talkback and 4 cores! UAD rules!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Good Stuff
By: POPE FLYNE      Submitted: 9/26/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Frequent Hangups. Needs frequent reboots.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Worth every dollar!!!!!
By: Mick Dougherty      Submitted: 9/11/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This is the ultimate interface for a smaller single recording. Love the plugins and UA offers a lot of deals on their plugins so plug into Universal Audio Twin MKII Quad!!!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
This is all you need!!!!!!!!!
By: david      Submitted: 9/5/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review You do not have to spend your hard earn money on a overreted studio anymore to record your next hit. The Apollo Twin has everything you need and more. It has top of line pre amps, addition inputs , multiple line out for(headphone mix or main and near monitoring and best of all a DSP chip so you can keep that old, slow Mac and can act like you own an HD rig. If you want to upgrade some more just add the Plug-in satellites or send it to Black Lion Audio and you have almost the same thing the big boys have. So do your bank account a favor and buy this machine. It will not let you down!!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
AMAZING
By: Will      Submitted: 9/5/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This is my 2nd unit from UA. The first unit I owned was the Firewire Apllo rack mount. This by far the best audio interface I've owned. The sound quality is unmatched. If you're looking for an affordable yet industry standard sound, this is the unit for you. The ability to record plugins at zero latency and to print the plugin recording in the daw makes this the perfect blend of hardware & software. This is exactly what you need!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Instantly noticed the differences
By: Nathaniel mullins      Submitted: 9/5/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I came from using an Avid Mbox Pro 3. The second I turned this interface on , I heard a ton of flaws in my mix . Night and day . The plug ins are high quality too and I appreciate the UA system of taking the load off of my Mac and processing them on the interface itself . Worth every penny
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Absolutely love this thing
By: William      Submitted: 9/5/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I was deciding if I should go with the Apogee quartet or Apollo Twin MKII Quad. I finally went with Apollo and it DOES NOT disappoint. Well worth it for this price. Great quality on both sounds and built. Perfect for personal use and home studio. Definitely recommend it.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Exactly what I needed!
By: Jonathan Gautier      Submitted: 8/10/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I bought this so I could daisy-chain it with my Apollo Rack unit and it is seriously, amazing! Not only do I have the extra inputs, but I now have dedicate monitor controller with talkback. Now I can use the UAD plugins at home as well as my studio. This thing is heavier than it looks and is built pretty sturdy. It was a bit pricy, but I use it everyday so it was well worth it.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
I love the product, and AMS!!!
By: Christopher      Submitted: 7/24/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This piece of gear is in my opinion, top notch. The Apollo works out just perfect for my recording needs, on the go with my laptop, as well as on my desktop. The quality in my mind is the best, it has an Arsenal of great professional plugins to go along with being my go t o hardware for all my recording needs. I also wanna give a special shot out to American musical supply, fo making it easy to purchase, and for the staffs knowledge, and support.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Like Vintage Gear
By: michael k      Submitted: 7/23/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Recording & mixing engineers from the last century would have given much, to have the ease of use and quality that Universal Audio brings to us today. Listen to the hardware vs plugin shoot out at the UA site and see if the MKII wouldn't work for you too.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Best Portable Interface
By: Tommy Vargas      Submitted: 7/23/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I purchased this as an add on to my silverface apollo quad. It has been a great tool acting as a monitor/volume control, talkback mic, mono switching and dim mode for my recording environment. But, you also have one of the best quality preamp, conversion interface you can get. Let's not forget about the great UA plugins, and unison preamps. For small projects, this is all I need. Can show up with a laptop and this interface and be set to make pro sounding recordings. Thanks American Musical!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Know what you're buying. Love will surely follow!
By: Puzzle Audio Productions      Submitted: 7/21/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review As a voice actor, musician, sound designer and audiophile, I wanted to take my studio set up to a new level, including the Townsend L22 Sphere microphone. The Apollo Mk II Quad is the perfect match for this microphone and allows me to work with a laptop or desktop with access to some of the best classic hardware emulations available. The Unison pre-amps and plugin combinations offer me the opportunity to produce extremely high quality productions at a fraction of the cost for what it would take to assemble a studio filled with vintage hardware. If you are will to invest in improving your sound, you cannot go wrong with UAD. Since installing the UAD Apollo (and UAD Arrow) in my studio, I have received compliments from existing clients and several new projects have come my way because of the improvements people can hear in my productions. I wasn't sure I'd love this thing when I bought it but after several months of use, I'm very pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Super happy!
By: Ken Mesford      Submitted: 5/1/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Unison is incredible technology! The best sounding plugins on the market, with no latency, powered by a solid piece of hardware, with improved converters, expanded DSP power, and improved functionality! What’s not to like?
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Truly the best. Perfect in every way
By: Sebrocks      Submitted: 4/2/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review While it is true that the sound quality and the plugins are as good as advertised, the size and multiple purposes of the interface make it the ultimate for its price range and grade. If you aren’t working in the studio, but you need that kind of bang, this is the one. Watch out though, if you are new to universal plugins, they are that good and that expensive. Look for preamps, compressors and eqs to make your recording that much more legit.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Well worth the money.
By: Bryan Williams      Submitted: 3/4/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This is the best move that I have made in my production game. This interface is very hi tech.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Nice, but For PCs there are issues
By: Elric Phares,elric@techoftomorrow.com      Submitted: 2/27/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review PC users be very wary as this device needs a add in Thunderbolt 3 card that costs anywhere between $100 -$299 and then you have to buy another $100 adapter from Thunderbolt 2 to Thunderbolt 3 adapter so the investment is close to another $200 or $300 just to get going. The product is very nice, but for PC users its much more expensive to get up and going.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Better that words can express
By: Christian      Submitted: 10/3/2017
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Shocked at the sound quality after having the Apollo Twin Duo MK1, it blows that one away. Great job! UA
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Absolutely phenomenal
By: Garrett      Submitted: 3/8/2017
verified
Product Rating




Product Review The way I listened to music was completely changed when I decided to get this wonderful work of art. Perfect for everything I need it for, not to mention that the preamps on this are top quality and make anything you put through it sound crisp and clean. So glad I waited for the MK2 to come out! UA really outdid themselves this time!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback