Universal Audio OX Analog Reactive Load Box for tube guitar amps
review title:

Finally hear what your amp sounds like.

By: Jerry dee      Submitted: 5/12/2020

Product Rating




verified
Product Rating Product Review The ox Box is great! I can finally get that power amp break up without getting divorce papers with it. Love this thing for recording. I never have to wait for the kids or wife to wake up to crank my tube amp and get recording. If you love tube Amps, you need this thing.
review title:

Your old tube amp needs the OX

By: Taylor L.      Submitted: 3/10/2020

Product Rating




verified
Product Review I was skeptical of the hype when this came out. I’ve used attenuators for years, and many of the newer attenuators I’ve tried have been pretty lackluster. Having read about WIFI connection issues I was nervous to pull the trigger on the OX. Happy to confirm the WiFi on my unit works flawlessly and I was up and running in minutes. The OX is the ultimate guitar recording tool. If you have non-master volume tube amps, this box will make you fall in love with your amps all over again. The attenuator feels good regardless of output volume. The headphone output is perfect for practicing with my one month old at home. Thanks to AMS for all of their help, and getting it shipped out fast.
review title:

Little to no loss of tone

By: Billy R      Submitted: 2/26/2020

Product Rating




2 people found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review Wonderful attenuator, bought it specifically for a studio vintage Marshall head,sounds excellent at lower volumes
review title:

Best cab sim out there

By: John Newsome,Jsnewsome2@gmail.com      Submitted: 11/26/2019

Product Rating




verified
Product Review I got the OX box based on the suggestions of some guitar players that I truly respect and admire. They all told me that it replaced mics (live and in the studio). I use it on the road and in the studio, and it blows my mind. It sounds better than any micing situation I’ve ever had, and it’s extremely easy to use. I would recommend this to anyone—It’s a game changer for me!
review title:

Amazing Technology

By: Kyle      Submitted: 11/6/2019

Product Rating





Product Review A fantastic piece of gear that can tame my ridiculously loud 100 watt Marshall JMP. A bit expensive, but worth it to me to hear the Marshall tone at bedroom levels
review title:

Just what I needed

By: BobV      Submitted: 9/30/2019

Product Rating




0 people found this review helpful.

Product Review The OX works out perfect for me. There are times when I can't use my amps so having the built in rigs in the OX cover these times. The Rigs sound great to and have enough flexibility and tweaking to suit my needs. I like that I can dial in the room directly on the front controls as well as the rigs and line output all from the front controls. The software is really easy to use. I'm running windows 10 and I have had zero issues connecting to the OX via wify. The built in effects are really good to. I'm finding myself using them instead of my pedalboard effects. There are so many creative ways to use the OX. The amount of attenuation it gives is amazing. So far I like everything about the OX. I am glad I decided to get it. It is a big asset to my creativity.
review title:

As a session player this device has enable me to walk into any studio and work .

By: Fred Hughes      Submitted: 5/26/2019

Product Rating




3 people found this review helpful.

Product Review As a session player this device has enable me to walk into any studio and work .
review title:

Game Changer

By: Nick F      Submitted: 5/6/2019

Product Rating




2 people found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review This thing is a game changer for me! Limitless new recording options and excellent tone.
review title:

Love this unit

By: Philly Joe Littel,phillyjoe@phillyjoe.net      Submitted: 5/6/2019

Product Rating




1 person found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review Used it Live and in the studio. Excellent in both situations. A bit pricey but a lot of good features. The Speaker and mic emulation is terrific.
review title:

Amazing product!

By: Chris      Submitted: 5/6/2019

Product Rating




verified
Product Review I love this thing! Definitely a must have for recording if you dont want to have to deal with a mic and cranking your amp. Sounds absolutely fantastic and its super easy to use! I would recommend this to anyone!
review title:

Worth the hype?

By: NPuno      Submitted: 4/26/2019

Product Rating




verified
Product Review Is this thing perfect? No. Does it live up to the hype? For me it does. Adding this piece of gear to my rig has rekindle my love for playing. Being able to push my tube amps at bedroom levels and getting tones I haven’t heard in years has been a ton of fun. However, I don’t like the dial switching attenuation but it’s not a dealbreaker
review title:

Fully produced stereo guitar

By: Davidf555      Submitted: 4/26/2019

Product Rating




verified
Product Review Running this thru a stereo board. It just sounds great. It will take you some time to experiment with all the pre sets. I found a handful As is that I use for gigs.
review title:

A Swiss Army Knife / Looking Forward To Updates

By: Sean      Submitted: 4/12/2019

Product Rating




verified
Product Review First off, this is a "sexy" product. It uses Wifi and an app to communicate to your operating system. I had issues with it connecting on the second day after initial install, but after a few hours of restarting my computer and a few firmware reinstalls it decided to play nice, and the wifi and app have been in a locked groove ever since. As an attenuator its great. My amp has never sounded better at recording volumes. I plan to play out with this, too, so that my stage volume will be moderated. The cab sim possibilities are vast and thorough, with multiple microphone, microphone placement, and cab options available. The mixer GUI is impeccable as this is UA's strongest area. I am looking forward to updates as I hope they may improve the quality of the simulations, but they are definitely worthy of working with in the meantime.
review title:

This thing is amazing!!

By: Martin McDaniel      Submitted: 3/5/2019

Product Rating




1 person found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review This box does just about everything! It’s amazing! I’m using it live and in the studio! It’s hands down the best cabinet sim there is!
review title:

Absolutely incredible.

By: DR      Submitted: 2/22/2019

Product Rating




1 person found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review The sound is SO good. All of the cabinet and mic emulations are top notch, and the effects are incredible. I can’t be happier with this purchase.
review title:

Game changer

By: Raynaldo      Submitted: 12/27/2018

Product Rating




1 person found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review I absolutely love this box. It’s easy to set up, although I had to call UA customer service, but they walked me through getting set up with Logic.
review title:

I love this thing

By: Sonicwit      Submitted: 11/11/2018

Product Rating




verified
Product Review The best tool in the option of recording with out having to recover your wallet for micro phones and amp modelling the chemistry is authentic hearit feel it on your own amp you won't look back!
review title:

Sounds great but not amazing software

By: Michael Krompass      Submitted: 10/23/2018

Product Rating




1 person found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review I think the concept behind the ox is great however I find there are a lot of unnecessary features that make the item not perfectly user friendly. The flaw is no xlr-out and the interface requires WiFi to run which is a pain. I think there are many devices that are amazing reactive load boxes that are better priced and do just as great, if not better.
review title:

Love the diversity of uses

By: Dave      Submitted: 10/4/2018

Product Rating




verified
Product Review This product works great but would benefit from an update with more speaker/cab options
review title:

Perfect for guitarists who love tube amps!!

By: Grevan      Submitted: 9/26/2018

Product Rating




verified
Product Review If you love tube amps, but can’t crank ‘em up all the time when you want to record or practice, “the OX is the box” for you! It sounds great, is very flexible, and you can get so many more sounds with just one amp. Love it!
review title:

This thing is all that and a bag of chips!!!

By: Adriel Cuevas      Submitted: 9/5/2018

Product Rating




verified
Product Review Universal Audio OX Box, I was very reluctant to make this purchase, as it is quite a monetary investment. But I very quickly realized that I was the winner in this transaction!! It's one of those "I don't know how I ever got along without it" things! Best attenuator on the market! Best cabinet simulator on the market! My actual amp speaker cab cost about 3/4 of what the UA Box cost, and it can't change, I'm committed to a 4×10 open back cabinet forever. With all of the speaker and mic combinations stuffed in the UA Ox Box, I'm easily well over $20,000 in gear essentially. It's a no brainer, do yourself a favor and try this thing out. You WILL NOT be disappointed!! I'm not a bedroom guitar player, my band gigs about 200 plus shows a year, so this review is of a product that really is being put to the test night after night.
review title:

Great for tube Amps, specially vintage tube Amps!

By: R. SILVA      Submitted: 8/15/2018

Product Rating




1 person found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review Design to work with the tubes Amp Output (power Amp) stage, the output signal is send to the speaker in the combo or speaker cabinet ( as long as the speakers are the right ones for the power amp’s output power) also the amp’s output signal can be processed with speaker cabinet modelers (included in the OX accessed via Wi-Fi and a software app) and send to a Console, recording Interface, monitors and headphones, just the tube amp power-volume “attenuation” or “soak” is very good, in my experience with this device, leve 0 is for headphone use, level 1 is very low just to practice because you still don’t have full harmonics and dynamics response, But from Level 2 and up you really feel and hear the amp’s dynamic response and the harmonics and juice that you will hear and feel from a full throttle tube Amp. Highly recommended for tube amp lovers especially vintage tube amp’s without master volume.
review title:

Excellent product for Mac or iPad users

By: cbower      Submitted: 7/22/2018

Product Rating




1 person found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review This product is in a class by itself, I'm able to record solid tube amp tones with no fuss or time consuming fiddling. Nice, usable presets put you in the ballpark. Buyers need to understand that Windows and Android phones or tablets are not supported yet. But if you have a Mac or iPad, you're golden.
review title:

Great device for recording and studio

By: Phil Parcell      Submitted: 7/21/2018

Product Rating




verified
Product Review Great for playing high watt valve amps at low volume. Great selection of cabs and room styles for recording. App is relatively straight forward too with some good editing options.
review title:

The best piece of gear I’ve ever purchased

By: J. Robison      Submitted: 7/21/2018

Product Rating




verified
Product Review You can search online and find a million reviews telling you about the excellent quality of the OX, and they are 100% accurate. Playing quietly at home without sacrificing tone whatsoever. Playing live and having the perfectly mic’d amp no matter who is running sound. Besides all of those qualities, the best thing is the OX inspires me to pick up my guitar more than ever before. Any piece of gear that brings that kind of joy is worth every dollar. If you are reading this review, I assure you that your purchase will be one of the best decisions you have made regarding gear. AMS was professional and awesome as always. Thanks UA and AMS!!!!
review title:

Unusable

By: Johnathan      Submitted: 4/15/2018

Product Rating




2 people found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review A line 6 spider will get a more realistic sound than this. All functionality is locked behind iPad and Mac apps so make sure you have an extra $1000 to spend buying functionality that should be on the knobs.
review title:

Powerful and pretty perfect

By: Scottyranks      Submitted: 4/8/2018

Product Rating




2 people found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review Ok, prior reviews slagged this thing a bit...what were they hearing? It sounds amazing and it’s hugely flexible. If you have amps that you love this will let you use them anywhere, even the headphone level kills. Pricey, yep, but you get what you pay for.
review title:

Simple to use, very effective

By: Josh      Submitted: 4/3/2018

Product Rating




2 people found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review I researched this Ox box thoroughly, and it’s competitors. It sounds amazing, and does it all while being SUPER easy to use. Just dial in your sounds, then play.
review title:

Pc users beware

By: Dustin Babitzke      Submitted: 2/9/2018

Product Rating




1 person found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review Was really excited for this but upon arrival turns out all the reviews that say it works with PC and Mac were wrong. This only works with macs and newer iPads (my iPad 3 won’t run the software). So it’s basically an expensive attenuator as you can’t edit any of the settings or cabinets. Really disappointed.
review title:

Does not support windows

By: Robin Archer      Submitted: 2/6/2018

Product Rating




10 people found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review I watched the demos on this and universal audio said its app would support Mac or Pc but it only supports a Mac. I was not able to check out the digital side as my studio is windows based and my phone is android. The reactive attenuator is good at most for 2 clicks after that your amp starts to sound like there is a blanket over it or its down the hall in another room. I am told there is no release date for Windows support at the moment. I gave it a 2 for these reasons.