Item Reviews for: Universal Audio OX Analog Reactive Load Box for tube guitar amps  -  UAD OX LIST

Just what I needed
By: BobV      Submitted: 9/30/2019

Product Rating




Product Rating Product Review The OX works out perfect for me. There are times when I can't use my amps so having the built in rigs in the OX cover these times. The Rigs sound great to and have enough flexibility and tweaking to suit my needs. I like that I can dial in the room directly on the front controls as well as the rigs and line output all from the front controls. The software is really easy to use. I'm running windows 10 and I have had zero issues connecting to the OX via wify. The built in effects are really good to. I'm finding myself using them instead of my pedalboard effects. There are so many creative ways to use the OX. The amount of attenuation it gives is amazing. So far I like everything about the OX. I am glad I decided to get it. It is a big asset to my creativity.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
As a session player this device has enable me to walk into any studio and work .
By: Fred Hughes      Submitted: 5/26/2019

Product Rating




Product Review As a session player this device has enable me to walk into any studio and work .
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Game Changer
By: Nick F      Submitted: 5/6/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This thing is a game changer for me! Limitless new recording options and excellent tone.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Love this unit
By: Philly Joe Littel      Submitted: 5/6/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Used it Live and in the studio. Excellent in both situations. A bit pricey but a lot of good features. The Speaker and mic emulation is terrific.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Amazing product!
By: Chris      Submitted: 5/6/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I love this thing! Definitely a must have for recording if you dont want to have to deal with a mic and cranking your amp. Sounds absolutely fantastic and its super easy to use! I would recommend this to anyone!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Worth the hype?
By: NPuno      Submitted: 4/26/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Is this thing perfect? No. Does it live up to the hype? For me it does. Adding this piece of gear to my rig has rekindle my love for playing. Being able to push my tube amps at bedroom levels and getting tones I haven’t heard in years has been a ton of fun. However, I don’t like the dial switching attenuation but it’s not a dealbreaker
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Fully produced stereo guitar
By: Davidf555      Submitted: 4/26/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Running this thru a stereo board. It just sounds great. It will take you some time to experiment with all the pre sets. I found a handful As is that I use for gigs.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
A Swiss Army Knife / Looking Forward To Updates
By: Sean      Submitted: 4/12/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review First off, this is a "sexy" product. It uses Wifi and an app to communicate to your operating system. I had issues with it connecting on the second day after initial install, but after a few hours of restarting my computer and a few firmware reinstalls it decided to play nice, and the wifi and app have been in a locked groove ever since. As an attenuator its great. My amp has never sounded better at recording volumes. I plan to play out with this, too, so that my stage volume will be moderated. The cab sim possibilities are vast and thorough, with multiple microphone, microphone placement, and cab options available. The mixer GUI is impeccable as this is UA's strongest area. I am looking forward to updates as I hope they may improve the quality of the simulations, but they are definitely worthy of working with in the meantime.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
This thing is amazing!!
By: Martin      Submitted: 3/5/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This box does just about everything! It’s amazing! I’m using it live and in the studio! It’s hands down the best cabinet sim there is!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Absolutely incredible.
By: DR      Submitted: 2/22/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review The sound is SO good. All of the cabinet and mic emulations are top notch, and the effects are incredible. I can’t be happier with this purchase.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Game changer
By: Ray Garcia      Submitted: 12/27/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I absolutely love this box. It’s easy to set up, although I had to call UA customer service, but they walked me through getting set up with Logic.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
I love this thing
By: Sonicwit      Submitted: 11/11/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review The best tool in the option of recording with out having to recover your wallet for micro phones and amp modelling the chemistry is authentic hearit feel it on your own amp you won't look back!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Sounds great but not amazing software
By: Michael Krompass      Submitted: 10/23/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I think the concept behind the ox is great however I find there are a lot of unnecessary features that make the item not perfectly user friendly. The flaw is no xlr-out and the interface requires WiFi to run which is a pain. I think there are many devices that are amazing reactive load boxes that are better priced and do just as great, if not better.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Love the diversity of uses
By: Dave      Submitted: 10/4/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This product works great but would benefit from an update with more speaker/cab options
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Perfect for guitarists who love tube amps!!
By: Grevan      Submitted: 9/26/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review If you love tube amps, but can’t crank ‘em up all the time when you want to record or practice, “the OX is the box” for you! It sounds great, is very flexible, and you can get so many more sounds with just one amp. Love it!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
This thing is all that and a bag of chips!!!
By: Chris Cuevas      Submitted: 9/5/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Universal Audio OX Box, I was very reluctant to make this purchase, as it is quite a monetary investment. But I very quickly realized that I was the winner in this transaction!! It's one of those "I don't know how I ever got along without it" things! Best attenuator on the market! Best cabinet simulator on the market! My actual amp speaker cab cost about 3/4 of what the UA Box cost, and it can't change, I'm committed to a 4×10 open back cabinet forever. With all of the speaker and mic combinations stuffed in the UA Ox Box, I'm easily well over $20,000 in gear essentially. It's a no brainer, do yourself a favor and try this thing out. You WILL NOT be disappointed!! I'm not a bedroom guitar player, my band gigs about 200 plus shows a year, so this review is of a product that really is being put to the test night after night.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great for tube Amps, specially vintage tube Amps!
By: RSV      Submitted: 8/15/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Design to work with the tubes Amp Output (power Amp) stage, the output signal is send to the speaker in the combo or speaker cabinet ( as long as the speakers are the right ones for the power amp’s output power) also the amp’s output signal can be processed with speaker cabinet modelers (included in the OX accessed via Wi-Fi and a software app) and send to a Console, recording Interface, monitors and headphones, just the tube amp power-volume “attenuation” or “soak” is very good, in my experience with this device, leve 0 is for headphone use, level 1 is very low just to practice because you still don’t have full harmonics and dynamics response, But from Level 2 and up you really feel and hear the amp’s dynamic response and the harmonics and juice that you will hear and feel from a full throttle tube Amp. Highly recommended for tube amp lovers especially vintage tube amp’s without master volume.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Excellent product for Mac or iPad users
By: cbower      Submitted: 7/22/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This product is in a class by itself, I'm able to record solid tube amp tones with no fuss or time consuming fiddling. Nice, usable presets put you in the ballpark. Buyers need to understand that Windows and Android phones or tablets are not supported yet. But if you have a Mac or iPad, you're golden.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great device for recording and studio
By: Phil Parcell      Submitted: 7/21/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Great for playing high watt valve amps at low volume. Great selection of cabs and room styles for recording. App is relatively straight forward too with some good editing options.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
The best piece of gear I’ve ever purchased
By: Jake R      Submitted: 7/21/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review You can search online and find a million reviews telling you about the excellent quality of the OX, and they are 100% accurate. Playing quietly at home without sacrificing tone whatsoever. Playing live and having the perfectly mic’d amp no matter who is running sound. Besides all of those qualities, the best thing is the OX inspires me to pick up my guitar more than ever before. Any piece of gear that brings that kind of joy is worth every dollar. If you are reading this review, I assure you that your purchase will be one of the best decisions you have made regarding gear. AMS was professional and awesome as always. Thanks UA and AMS!!!!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Unusable
By: Johnathan      Submitted: 4/15/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review A line 6 spider will get a more realistic sound than this. All functionality is locked behind iPad and Mac apps so make sure you have an extra $1000 to spend buying functionality that should be on the knobs.
0 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Powerful and pretty perfect
By: Scottyranks      Submitted: 4/8/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Ok, prior reviews slagged this thing a bit...what were they hearing? It sounds amazing and it’s hugely flexible. If you have amps that you love this will let you use them anywhere, even the headphone level kills. Pricey, yep, but you get what you pay for.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Simple to use, very effective
By: Josh      Submitted: 4/3/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I researched this Ox box thoroughly, and it’s competitors. It sounds amazing, and does it all while being SUPER easy to use. Just dial in your sounds, then play.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Pc users beware
By: Dustin Babitzke      Submitted: 2/9/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Was really excited for this but upon arrival turns out all the reviews that say it works with PC and Mac were wrong. This only works with macs and newer iPads (my iPad 3 won’t run the software). So it’s basically an expensive attenuator as you can’t edit any of the settings or cabinets. Really disappointed.
1 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Does not support windows
By: Robin Archer      Submitted: 2/6/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I watched the demos on this and universal audio said its app would support Mac or Pc but it only supports a Mac. I was not able to check out the digital side as my studio is windows based and my phone is android. The reactive attenuator is good at most for 2 clicks after that your amp starts to sound like there is a blanket over it or its down the hall in another room. I am told there is no release date for Windows support at the moment. I gave it a 2 for these reasons.
8 of 15 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback