Item Reviews for: Warm Audio WA73-EQ 1073 Style Microphone Preamp And Equalizer  -  WAU WA73EQ LIST
Warm Audio WA73-EQ 1073 Style Microphone Preamp And Equalizer
review title:

WA73-EQ

By: Chris      Submitted: 6/25/2020

Product Rating




verified
Product Rating Product Review Couldn't be happier with this preamp. Has smooth saturation at a great price. It arrived in two days. Always a pleasure dealing with AMS. Thanks, guys! You did it again.
review title:

Great investment !!

By: Jimmy Whip      Submitted: 5/26/2020

Product Rating




1 person found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review It’s everything it’s advertised to be. Ranks right up there with the super expensive piece it’s modeled after. You won’t be disappointed. ????
review title:

A 1073-Style Pre at a Third of the Cost

By: Pop Shag Productions, Statesville North Carolina      Submitted: 4/27/2020

Product Rating




verified
Product Review I am absolutely in love with the Wa - 73 I purchased. If anybody knows about the sound of the other more expensive version, I can't tell the difference. This preamp colors sound just as good as the original. This is a very good product. I purchased it through American music Supply and what a deal they gave me. I couldn't say nicer things about this product or this company. American music supply will be where I shop for all of my Studio Gear. Highly recommended. 5 Stars across the board.
review title:

This is the mic-pre you need to have

By: DJ Double ii,djdoubleii@yahoo.com      Submitted: 2/12/2020

Product Rating




verified
Product Review Not only are the mic levels sounding professional, but ALL my old mixes have been restored to greatness. So many uses. Thank you warm audio and American musical
review title:

warm Audio WA-73 is a real game-changer

By: LC Davis III,lcdavisthird@gmail.com      Submitted: 2/11/2020

Product Rating




verified
Product Review The warm audio wa73 is a real game-changer it is brought my home studio to another level of recording. I love the warm Rich sound it gives to my vocals, also it is great to be able to have a great recording on the way in which saves lots of time on mixing. Also I love that there's a mixer as well as send and return inserts which can be switched on or off from the front. And still I'm not covering all the features, now I definitely understand why it is called the Holy Grail of preamps. This can only be a plus to any studio.
review title:

Vivid, Detailed, & Alive !

By: John in Maine      Submitted: 12/10/2019

Product Rating




verified
Product Review Using the WA73-EQ for tracking vocals, bass, and guitars was an instant and very noticeable step up in audio quality. I record at home using UAD Apollo into Logic Pro X and am so happy to have improved my recording chain with the WA73-EQ. An excellent addition to your studio. Very quiet operation, a robust signal, and plenty of EQ flexibility. Thank You AMS and Warm Audio !!!
review title:

Good recording equipment

By: Cassandra Contreras      Submitted: 12/10/2019

Product Rating




2 people found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review Warm audio is stepping up the game with this affordable,stable equipment. Delivers good tonality and allows you to control frequencies.
review title:

Absolutely stunning!

By: Daniel Manriquez,vientos00@yahoo.com      Submitted: 11/26/2019

Product Rating




verified
Product Review I recently purchased the warm audio wa73 eq with no high expectations of any sort. I’ve been using a solo 610 tube preamp as my main mic pre so in my opinion it was going to be tough for any other character preamp to impress me. So I thought lol. The Warm Wa73 is definitely my new “desert island” mic preamp. The Warm Wa73 is so good that I almost sold the solo 610! And I’m not even referring the eq section of the preamp, I’m basing this solely on the preamp section. The fact that it has an EQ just makes it that much more appealing. This mic pre is amazing! It is definitely not a “one trick pony”. The reason why the warm audio unit impressed me so much was because of its versatility. On its own, it sounds very smooth.To put it clearly, it has that “expensive”/“finished” sound that we have all heard before on most of our favorite albums. It just sounds “right”. Clear as day highs with a beautiful but never exaggerated lush low end. And a smooth midrange that will make your jaw drop. Engage the “Tone” switch,and what you get is a vintage sound that will rival the best tube mic preamps out there. Trust me I know. I almost sold my Solo 610 because the warm unit gave me that “vintage” tone that I was after . Especially once I engaged the “Tone” switch. The only reason that I am keeping my Solo 610 is because, well, why not lol. Right lol. However I did almost return it based on the logic that since the wa73 can give me both a smooth sound and a vintage tone, why not save myself $800. If For some reason I could only keep one of these mic preamps, it would definitely be the Warm Wa73. What it really surprised me on was Bass DI. The Solo 610 has always been my “go to” di/mic preamp for bass di. It gives me me a kind of “Big and warm low end that can sound close to a bass amp in a mix. When I ran the same bass through the warm 73 however(with the “Tone” switch engaged) Wow!!! It has that vintage big bottom end that the Solo 610 has, but with a sparkling high end that just makes it sing in a mix. I’m very impressed with the Warm Audio Wa73 eq. It’s a great piece of gear not just for the money, it’s just a great piece of gear. Can’t wait to try out the rest of their line through American Musical €>>>>>>.
review title:

True classic mic pre

By: Astra Studio Chicago      Submitted: 11/9/2019

Product Rating





Product Review I bought this mic pre after lots of research and listening to other 1073 emulations. I love the sound of this unit! The EQ is very good and well. A must in the studio!!!
review title:

Best preamp on the market for its price

By: Studio 1601 Music      Submitted: 10/17/2019

Product Rating




3 people found this review helpful.

Product Review The clarity and warmth this unit brings to vocals and guitar is amazing. For it less than the original, there’s no way to go wrong with this unit.
review title:

Warm Audio is the future!!!

By: Keibway Greaves      Submitted: 9/26/2019

Product Rating




6 people found this review helpful.

Product Review I made the right decision to expand my production.
review title:

Better than expected!

By: Darren from MAV      Submitted: 9/10/2019

Product Rating





Product Review Man when I tell you that I was blow away by this unit, I mean it. This is my first “big boy” preamp and it’s worth every penny so far. I tested it on multiple microphones and they all came out sounding golden.
review title:

If You Want A Neve But Have No Money

By: Jason Hibdon      Submitted: 5/31/2019

Product Rating




2 people found this review helpful.

Product Review Lately I have become a pretty big fan of Warm Audio, and this WA73 is one of the reasons why. If you’re anything like me you love the Neve sound but don’t have that kind of money. While I can’t say this unit is a 100% representation of the real thing it’s pretty close. While there are quite a few good representations on the Neve 1073 out there (Bae, Vintech, Aurora Audio,and then Portico and Amek from Rupert himself) they are all on the higher budget range (even though much cheaper than a vintage model). Warm Audio has done a fantastic job of giving us a version that’s not only affordable to most amateurs and project studios but also in delivering a pre that is built very well and sturdy and it even looks like an old 1073. It is punchy in the low mid on bass and kick like we like it, phat in the mids for snare and guitars (yes I descibed mids as “phat”) and great highs for that air on vocals. The eq is pretty aggressive, like you would expect from a 1073. Overall, I great unit and you can’t beat it at the price. If you already own 1 or 2 Neve’s you may consider selling them when you see how many WA73’s you can buy to replace them...anyway. I highly recommend!!
review title:

Huge difference

By: Damiane      Submitted: 4/26/2019

Product Rating




2 people found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review Upgraded from stock preamp to this beast and found i had to do less on the back end
review title:

I love it.

By: Shundreca Johnson      Submitted: 2/19/2019

Product Rating




0 people found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review Its the best thing that has happened to me.
review title:

Mind Blowing Pre-amp!

By: Jay      Submitted: 1/15/2019

Product Rating




1 person found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review I'm beyond impressed with the performance of the Warm Audio 73'. I've had pre-amps in the past I used like Rolls and Art and this really transformed my mic. I have it matched with a Rode NTK Tube mic and all I can say is that it's like my mic was transformed. The 73' is extremely precise. The slightest adjustment changes the signal. That's the first thing I noticed with it. When you twist a knob or push in a button it gives an immediate difference to the sound output. Before purchasing this unit I searched and searched through videos and reviews of it but mostly all I found were people playing guitars and such but never a review just show casing the Pre-amp and what it can do to a signal input. It really does upgrade your sound to studio record ready level. If you have a decent mid range mic like I have it really does kick the sound quality up a notch. I am using this for singing and it sounds wonderful to hear every nuance in my vocals that would usually get pushed aside with lesser preamps.
review title:

Shut up and take my money

By: Atony      Submitted: 1/5/2019

Product Rating




2 people found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review Best investment I’ve made in a long time. Will definitely look into other warm audio products
review title:

Great sound!

By: Collin      Submitted: 12/5/2018

Product Rating




0 people found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review That's the neve sound!
review title:

Yep.

By: Ryan      Submitted: 11/6/2018

Product Rating




3 people found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review Been tracking using the UAD 1073 emulation which sounds fantastic. As soon as I fired the WA73 up I felt a difference. The top end seems more 3D. The lows feel tighter. Mids are sweet. Highly recommend this pre if you’re looking for the 1073 vibe. Having that extra band at 16k is really nice too.
review title:

Well worth the money

By: Bakari I. Heru      Submitted: 10/29/2018

Product Rating




2 people found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review Very authentic and expensive sound!
review title:

clear warm and incredible!

By: Roscoe Gray      Submitted: 10/9/2018

Product Rating




4 people found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review It’s sounds just as good as a BAE 1073. you can’t go wong.
review title:

Best bang for your buck

By: Lanate      Submitted: 10/5/2018

Product Rating




5 people found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review This preamp rivals much higher end pres that ive used. If you’re lookinh for that neve sound with a very musical EQ this is the preamp for you. This preamp reproduces big vocals and clarity. Cost half the price of the avalon M5 and sounds just as big or bigger when dialing in the eq just a little
review title:

My favorite toy

By: Greg P      Submitted: 8/14/2018

Product Rating




3 people found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review This unit is well built not only is it well built it is also heavy....and sound so amazing paired with the WA-47 Tube....this by far the best 1073 clone i have used.....