Item Reviews for: Warm Audio WA76 Discrete Compressor  -  WAU WA76 LIST

A little extra oomph!
By: Tommy Vargas      Submitted: 6/5/2019

Product Rating




Product Rating Product Review Just tracked bass through this yesterday. Was happy using the UA plugin but after comparing the two tracks, the hardware wins out! A little extra bottom end, mid definition and just sits in mix a little more naturally. I have come to realize the cumulative affects of tracking via analog hardware. On its own, it may just be a 5% difference, but add that 5% across all your tracks and you start to get the picture.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Awesome sound! “Love it”
By: Daniel Diaz Alejo      Submitted: 5/6/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review After reading so many good reviews online, I went ahead and bought two of these for my studio! After trying it for an hour, all I can say is WOW what a difference !!! Don't be fooled, this is a 1176! It will make your sound bigger and rich. You cannot beat analog sound in my opinion. I have the Waves plugin and honestly I end up using the wa76! It may sound weird but I use them with my headphones to listen movies and play video games and wow, the sound comig out of this is just amazing. If you are on budget and need a really good compressor, do yourself a favor, go ahead and get not one but two if possible. You won’t regret it!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Well worth it
By: Jasmine      Submitted: 4/27/2019

Product Rating




Product Review It works just fine..
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Money well spent
By: La-Jean McDowell      Submitted: 3/5/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review My thoughts on this piece of gear is fantastic. I love the way it sounds running my AKG C414 thru this piece of gear. I'm glad to have it in my rack..
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
This is practically gold in tube compressor form
By: John Knight,john@arcadedaydream.com      Submitted: 2/22/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I was pretty skeptical about the reviews of the Warm Audio WA-76, a budget-friendly, tube compressor based on the original 1176 devices of yesteryear. Mimicking the original 1176's front panel layout (it even preserved the all-ratio buttons pressed trick), it gives you great control over the signal passing through it. After several dry wet A/B comparisons I was amazed at the character the WA-76 added to my recordings. I record mostly from either synthesizers, drum machines, or samplers. I've used the WA-76 on all of them and it's gold. A ratio setting of 4 and it'll add some nice tube saturation to kick drums. A ratio of 20 with shortest attack and release and my synthesizers sound thick and amazing. And the price, it's a steal! The next comparable offering is double the price of this unit. If you're on the fence, buy one. You won't ever be getting rid of it. It's that good
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
This is what I have needed for a long time...I just didn't realize it.
By: Jim Sullivan      Submitted: 2/7/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review These guys are great. Warm Audio is giving us what other companies are charging thousands for!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great product!
By: Dan      Submitted: 2/4/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Works great!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Awsome piece of equipment
By: Jean Carlos Echeverri      Submitted: 12/6/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I used the 1176 by ua and this is a good representation of that legendary piece of equipment. Good job to the guys at warm audio
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
WA76 is legit!!!!!
By: Carl Moore Music,carlmooremusic@yahoo.com      Submitted: 10/5/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I love the personality of solid outboard gear. At a price that’s unheard of, the wa76 provides exactly the imprint of what the product name insinuates. Add it to your chain and I know you won’t be disappointed,
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Totally worth it!
By: Ralph      Submitted: 10/4/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Great piece of gear! Easy to use! Great price!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
The Wa76 is a must have unit!
By: Jamil smith (www.colossalbeatz.com),Colossalb3atz@gmail.com      Submitted: 9/26/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review The Wa76 by far exceeds its concept. Personally I own an original Ua 1176 and I gotta say that the warm audio 1176 srykebcompressor is spot on and at the same time delivers its own flavors. It adds nice ouch and warmth for several applications and at its price point..well, it’s a no brained! Great unit!!!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Very good very fast.
By: Babbylon Sound,jamesmichaelbabb@gmail.com      Submitted: 9/7/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Wa76 is fast like a 76 is supposed to be. The Wa76 adds some grit to the signal also. It’s a great sound. The distortion can be overbearing if it’s pushed hard but getting the input and ratio together provides an outstanding sound on just about anything. I would personally say that the overdrive characteristics of the wa76 are not the same as an 1176. Not bad just different. The Wa76 smokes any plugin any day of the week all the time. The thing that isn’t my favorite is the orange paint and the smaller knobs. It’s built well but an upgrade would be an internal power supply. For the price it’s a definite winner.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Just like butter baby!!!
By: Donyia Lovell      Submitted: 9/5/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I have 2 of these WA76s and it makes everything from my drum busses to mix bus sound just like silk....Kudos Warm Audio.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Big Bang For Your Bucks
By: ariel e ramirez      Submitted: 7/23/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This compressor is everything I hoped for. This is part of my vocal chain and let me tell you that it is wonderful. I am a big fan of Warm Audio for their top quality at affordable pricing. You cannot go wrong with this unit.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Jolly good piece of gear!
By: brian J      Submitted: 7/21/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This is one of those “I hear a difference” pieces of gear! Adding this to the vocal, electric guitar and snare drum chains just made it come alive! The CineMag added such a great tone to the sound! I will buy a second one for sure! Get one you won’t be disappointed!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Well worth the money
By: Marcus      Submitted: 4/6/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This compressor is great for vocals...if u ever used the cla1176 plugin it sounds just like it it’s amazing
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Worth the money!
By: Damien HIS502 Williams      Submitted: 3/26/2017
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I love this compressor! I have never heard the original 1176 in person but can't imagine that it would sound too much better than this. Sounds way better than any of plugin compressors that I own. Brings a warmness to my vocal chain. Great buy!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Buy It
By: Rocket      Submitted: 11/9/2016
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Just buy it, you can't go wrong at all. Worth Every Penny Spent.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Fantastic
By: Chris      Submitted: 5/13/2016
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This is a fantastic outboard compressor. I've never had the luxury of using a UA 1176. I do have UAD 1176 mkii plugins which are good, but this sounds much better to my ears. Also... being able to track by controlling the signal on the way really effects performance in a positive way. And there's a certain realness you feel with hardware. Things just get recorded fantastically. I tend to use a UAD LA2A plugin to level the vocals in my rough draft mixes. I pair this with a ToneBeast. I'm absolutely considering grabbing the new Warm LA2A. Mic is a sm7b. Everything gets sent to a BLA Sparrow Red II. This is hands down the best sound I've ever achieved... and it's achieved easily. Just make sure you're in a good recording environment.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
To absolutely love this piece
By: Don (MrRiteNow) Mckethan      Submitted: 6/17/2015
verified
Product Rating




Product Review To be honest I didn't think that the WA76 would sound this good. Being as though I fell in love with the UA version. It really surprised me. I have to grab a couple more of these as well. Buy it. You won't be disappointed.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Go Warm via China
By: Burr      Submitted: 4/8/2015
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This seems to work and sound like the UA 1176 for less than half the cost. A true win-win.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Yes! Pro quality, consumer price!
By: Dave      Submitted: 8/11/2014
verified
Product Rating














Your general opinion of this product. A $2000 limiter/compressor at less than 1/3 the price. Sounds fantastic! Will now be involved in 80-90% of the tracking done in my studio. Paired with an ISA One this makes a killer professional quality input chain into my DAW. I had previously been in the camp that in today's world you don't need outboard compressors. But while recording someone with a wide volume range, I found that I had to lower the pre gain to stop ADC clipping and then bring the volume of the quiet parts up in the DAW. But that added too much noise to the quiet parts. With the WA76 in place, I can keep everything in those very dynamic tracks nicely in the low noise range. Yes. Internal components are high quality, Warm Audio saved some cost on the chassis, knobs, and power supply design but none of those affect the sound which is the only real important thing on this unit. Haven't had it long enough to know about dependability. Very easy, didn't need the manual. Just select 'GR' to adjust the input level to the desired amount of gain reduction, then set your output level. Attack and release settings are unique per track, but the "Dr. Pepper" setting (Attack @ 10 O'clock;l Release @ 2 O'clock, Ratio @ 4 O'clock) works well on a lot of things. The sound quality is the best feature. Pure smoothness. Allows me to use higher gain in the mic pre without worrying about clipping in the ADC, this results in cleaner sounding tracks for dynamic content with wide ranging volumes. Too early to tell.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
I love it!
By: jcm from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma      Submitted: 2/28/2014
verified
Product Rating














Your general opinion of this product. This is the real deal. I had toyed with the idea of getting the kit for quite awhile and then the wa76 became available for even less than the kit. It's well worth the investment for not much more than a plugin pack of compressors
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback