Item Reviews for: Line 6 Relay G50 Digital Wireless Guitar System  -  X2D RELAYG50 LIST
Line 6 Relay G50 Digital Wireless Guitar System
review title:

Solid compact construction, great signal quality with no loss or interference, great range of dista...

By: Jim      Submitted: 1/26/2020

Product Rating




verified
Product Rating Product Review Solid compact construction, great signal quality with no loss or interference, great range of distance. Multiple channels and mute switch are a great addition from what I'm used to. The cable simulator/high-end rolloff is a nice touch. I have no real complaints with this unit although The transmitter cable is a bit flimsy as they unfortunately usually are with most wireless systems in my experience. So typically I'm having a slightly difficult time finding a good spot to clip the transmitter on my strap or belt, to keep my movements from breaking the plug to jack connection in an angled strat style jack without putting undue stress on the cable by wrapping it around the strap-pin or anything like that. This is more a jack problem than the transmitter cable problem but a sturdier one would help. So far I'm still enjoying wireless feeedom with my guitar and basses with minimal jack connection cut-out.
review title:

This product WORKS!

By: Skip,Squirejazz5@gmail.com      Submitted: 10/6/2019

Product Rating





Product Review This product works great. My bass has better tone than with a cable. This is my first wireless system and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to "cut the cable"
review title:

Love this unit!!

By: Rich P      Submitted: 10/6/2019

Product Rating





Product Review for years I used an audio technica 1400 wireless, which worked flawlessly, until I got the nasty gram from them saying I was no longer allowed to use the uhf device lol. So the search was on for a new digital wireless. The guitarist in my band recommended I use this one, which is what he has been using since it came out, so I bought it, and having the 12 switchable frequencies makes it nice. Both our units sit within 10 feet of each other with no interference what so ever. I did have a problem with running energizer batteries though. I was having to use brand new batteries, the first 3 gigs I used the wireless on, and they were getting very low half way through the show, reguardless of where I had the battery consumption switch. So before I sent the unit back for another one, I tried using the duracell quantum AA batteries. That did the trick, I had full signal and full batteries all night. So no more Energizers lol. Unit works fantastic, love it!
review title:

Works great.

By: Wayne      Submitted: 9/5/2019

Product Rating





Product Review Works great. It’s the best wireless I’ve purchased so far.
review title:

Big Bang for the buck!

By: B      Submitted: 8/10/2019

Product Rating





Product Review I love this wireless system. The cable tone feature really lets you find your tone.
review title:

Just right

By: Tim      Submitted: 8/6/2019

Product Rating




1 person found this review helpful.

Product Review I play acoustic rhythm guitar. Do a lot of shows with a house PA. Simple to set this thing right in front of me, run a line to the DI and I’m off and running. Highly recommend.
review title:

Easy and reliable

By: TG      Submitted: 7/28/2019

Product Rating





Product Review I have used this product for multiple gigs now and it is very simple and reliable. I play bass in a bass heavy band and have no tone or dropout issues. Would give it a five if it had a rechargeable battery.
review title:

Not wortth anything

By: Al      Submitted: 4/26/2019

Product Rating




1 person found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review Bought two of these to take on national tour and they didn't work at all! Rt is non existent with these things. Spend the money and get something legit.
review title:

This wireless is awesome

By: James McNeil      Submitted: 3/5/2019

Product Rating




verified
Product Review Works well and has a nice range with no lag in sound
review title:

Works as advertised.

By: J. Ray      Submitted: 2/3/2019

Product Rating




verified
Product Review The "cable" tone seemed like a bit of hype. I went with the math. It listed a frequency response that met my needs. It has a zero compression stat. So I bought it to test. Everything advertised is accurate. I play in dropped A on a 5 string bass. This is the first wireless unit I have tested under $1500 that accurately reproduces my tone. The body pack is built solid. all metal chassis, and a nice locking battery compartment. The clip is tight, and does not slide at all on my strap. The receiver is just as solid, and fits on a pedal board nicely. I have not tested the full range, but 50 feet is clean and clear so far.
review title:

Well worth the money

By: linda koppelman      Submitted: 12/27/2018

Product Rating




verified
Product Review Works well no more chords
review title:

Great for gigs!

By: Jame’      Submitted: 12/27/2018

Product Rating




verified
Product Review Using on fiddle and it’s has worked to date perfectly
review title:

Definitely the best wireless system I have ever owned.

By: Thomas H.      Submitted: 12/5/2018

Product Rating




verified
Product Review I've used this wireless at multiple live shows and it has never let me down. It has a great range for the local clubs and battery life is excellent. The only reason I gave it 1 less star than perfection is that the connection to the transmitter could be longer and sturdier. It has bent a little from use and being set down on the strap in the guitar stand over the months, but not a major flaw. I will be surely purchasing an additional body back as a back up and as an additional signal from my secondary bass guitar.
review title:

Not bad but I'm having one problem!

By: Tony "Babyshoes" Bridges      Submitted: 10/24/2018

Product Rating




verified
Product Review The unit works well in terms of range and no sound coloration but the battery life is nowhere near what the specs say. Also I did get an unexpected signal dropout recently and this was at my church where it had been performing problem free for weeks.And it wasn't because of distance from the receiver...I was very close to it at the time of the dropouts. Minus those two issues I would have rated the product 5 stars instead of 3.
review title:

Works great. Well worth the freedom upgrade!

By: Chris      Submitted: 10/23/2018

Product Rating




verified
Product Review Great product. Have had zero issues. Sounds great. Can’t tell it wireless. I’ve had no noise or interference even with lots of other wireless product on at same time.
review title:

Works as advertised! Thats a good thing

By: Mark Keefe      Submitted: 10/4/2018

Product Rating




verified
Product Review Well built [the cable jacks are a bit iffy]. Minimal to no latency, at least none I could hear. In the studio it was great. Picks up a signal within seconds and locks on to it. I haven't had the need to use the cable 'delay' feature but it's a great idea. Highly Recommended
review title:

A God Send

By: Renee      Submitted: 10/4/2018

Product Rating




verified
Product Review I play an electric acoustic at church. This really cuts down on microphones on stage. Sound is amazing.
review title:

Great unit and perfect for what I needed...

By: Edward Andrews,gitrman1@yahoo.com      Submitted: 10/4/2018

Product Rating




1 person found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review I have been using a Relay G90 rack mount for about 4 years. A couple of years ago I bought a Quilter Pro Block 200 and mounted it on my pedalboard, but I was still having to run a cable from my effects rack to the board, into my first pedal. I was also using a Peterson rack mount tuner. Now I have the RG50 receiver mounted on the pedalboard and it all stays connected. I Also purchased a TC Polytune, (which has the same'accuracy' as the Peterson, when in strobe mode), from AMS and it's mounted on my board thus doing away with my effects rack and X-stand. Added Bonus for Me: I'm still using the transmitter that came with my RG90, saving the one that came with the RG50 as a 'spare' since they both use the Exact same transmitter... I couldn't be happier because it has reduced my work load and setup time tremendously!!! And it sounds Great and has Great Range!
review title:

Works Great for bass with a few caveats

By: Johnny Crab      Submitted: 9/24/2018

Product Rating




verified
Product Review Great for bass, channel select useful in dense RF environments, no dropouts EXCEPT will NOT work in extreme RF cases(i.e. Minute Maid Park Houston, home plate area). Receiver(RF1 version) is almost bullet-proof except power jack, on 3rd transmitter(in 9 years). Transmitter fail 1 = plastic pin connector wore out, # 2 battery terminals required bending and cleaning & door latch fail(terminals fixed.DeOxit'ed, rubber band holds door shut, it's a spare now), # 3 going strong since switching back to RF1.
review title:

One Word: Freedom

By: Joe Weise,fourstringsyz@new.rr.com      Submitted: 9/5/2018

Product Rating




verified
Product Review This product gives you the freedom to go wherever you want to go on stage. No more limits or restrictions from any length of cord. I play a variety of music and venues with my band. This unit has never dropped out. Ever. You can’t beat the price. You can’t beat the construction. And it WILL NOT change your tone. Big thanks to AMS and the payment plans. I had my wireless in 5 days! FREE SHIPPING. You want freedom. You want wireless. Then you will want Line 6 Relay G50
review title:

So far so good

By: Chuck Kuzminski      Submitted: 8/16/2018

Product Rating




verified
Product Review Bought this to replace a G30. G30 was good but I found that as time went on I was getting more dropouts. I don't run around when play but, I mix the sound, play guitar and sing so, it's nice to be able to go out to the middle of the house and play while I am doing sound check on my iPad. So far I have experience no drop outs with the G50 and the sound quality is great. Also, the transmitter feels very solid - like a pro level piece of gear should feel.
review title:

Best wireless around!

By: Samantha      Submitted: 8/10/2018

Product Rating




verified
Product Review Best wireless system hands down. Very Reliable. Easy to switch guitars at live shows as well. Stays attached, always has great signal. The R50 is definitely my go to for wireless guitar and I highly recommend!
review title:

Awesome piece of gear!

By: WorshipGuitarForGod      Submitted: 8/9/2018

Product Rating




verified
Product Review Had this unit for a while, and it’s mounted on my pedal board. Works great, and I have had no drop-outs. The tone (great tone) is the same as my cable setup as far as I can tell - what with the cable length adjustment on the base unit. Only reason I don’t give it 5 stars (it’s really a 4.75...) is batteries in the transmitter. Don’t get me wrong, the batter life is pretty good, but just will cost you more over time. So sometimes I don’t use the wireless for smaller venues, but just use my Mogami guitar cable. All in all, it’s a great piece of gear! Buy it, you won’t regret it!
review title:

A great wireless system

By: Mike R      Submitted: 8/9/2018

Product Rating




verified
Product Review I have owned other wireless systems at a variety of quality and price ranges.This one is my favorite ,quality and price wise. I have played several shows with it already and it has performed great. And AMS with its split payment options helps getting the gear you want easy. I love AMS and have been a customer for some time and recommend them to all my musician friends.
review title:

Excellent For What I Need

By: Mark Keefe      Submitted: 8/9/2018

Product Rating




verified
Product Review Has met and exceeded my expectations. I needed a wireless unit for recording purposes and small gigs and this is perfect. No latency issues or artifacts. Highly Recommended
review title:

excellent investment

By: John      Submitted: 7/24/2018

Product Rating




1 person found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review easy to use sounds great and fits on peddleboard,what more could you ask for
review title:

The best wireless I’ve ever had

By: Chris M      Submitted: 7/21/2018

Product Rating




verified
Product Review I’ve had other guitar wireless systems but the line 6 G50 is by far the best I’ve ever owned! Very easy to use and fully reliable. A must have. The battery life is long lasting and the range is awesome
review title:

Perfect!!!

By: TjValion      Submitted: 1/9/2018

Product Rating




verified
Product Review Awesome! Absolutely NO delay/response. Well worth the money....bye cables!!!!
review title:

Another awesome Line 6 product!!

By: Bowden's Mind      Submitted: 9/26/2017

Product Rating




1 person found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review Clean tone, no noise, no signal loss. Easy to use. Freedom from a cable. Love it!!
review title:

worst wireless unit I've ever owned.

By: Kal Lester      Submitted: 8/27/2017

Product Rating




1 person found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review Destroyed my tone. Dropped the signal in less than 20 feet. I think if you were using a modeling amp this wireless might be okay, but with Dr Z or any tube amp there is a out of phase tone that you can't get rid of. The cable simulator switch is nothing more than a tone pot that adds to the agrivation. Don't buy this if you want to retain the tone of a good tele with a boutique amp.
review title:

Why'd I wait so long

By: David Wilson      Submitted: 8/22/2017

Product Rating




0 people found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review This unit is exactly as advertised. No tone loss, or signal loss. I love the freedom to roam around the stage.
review title:

Works great

By: Glenn N      Submitted: 3/27/2016

Product Rating




1 person found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review Great range and really good clear tone with no interference from any of my other devices. My advice though is to invest in a rechargeable battery system as battery life is terrible. That's why I gave it four stars instead of five. I used good batteries and the life expectancy they gave in the specs isn't even close. I make sure the transmitter is powered off when it's not in use too.
review title:

It free me up on stage! Clarity of sound & easy setup!

By: Rico Ricardo      Submitted: 7/5/2015

Product Rating




verified
Product Review As above!
review title:

I am happy with my purchase.

By: Skip Taylor from Upper Marlboro Maryland      Submitted: 5/5/2014

Product Rating












5 people found this review helpful.
verified
Your general opinion of this product. I really like my G50 however batt life is short. The connection cord that comes with is is low quality and that is no on/off switch for the transmitter. Very well made - so far I have had no issues... As easy as plugging in and playing. I would add a on and off to the transmitter so that you can keep the unit plugged when not in use. Wonderful - best bass tone I have ever heard from a wireless.
review title:

MUST Read! I hated it - then figured out my problem.

By: John Christopher Eagle - guitarist for Mack's Daddy from Hampton Virginia, john.eagle@cox.net      Submitted: 1/18/2014

Product Rating












6 people found this review helpful.
verified
Your general opinion of this product. Upgraded to this baby but it kept dropping out (my act has lots of lights, trusses, steel framing - interference bombs). Very frustrating - never had a problem with dropouts on my UHF systems. Contacted Line 6 through tech support and turns out there are two transmission firmware versions built into the transmitter. The manual is somewhat ambiguous on this point, but the bottom line is that RF2 (the newer and default setting) sucks. After changing it to RF1, works like a champ - no more dropouts. Clean as a whistle signal, no dropouts, reliable. Yay! Tech support was responsive and got me straight. But they should fix RF2. Very well made. Metal housing rocks. Very easy to use - searching for clean channels probably not necessary after switching to RF1 - but I still do it. Love the aux out. Run it straight to my tuner so I have a separate channel for it and can leave it enabled with pedal board muted or volume down. Also cuts down on signal chain signal loss. Also love the fact that I can see my transmitter battery level on the receiver, since the transmitter is on my belt behind me out of view. Perfect. ALWAYS loved that aspect.
review title:

"Best money I've spent in a while..."

By: Chuck Marshall from Tampa Bay Florida,USA      Submitted: 1/7/2014

Product Rating












verified
Your general opinion of this product. Great sounding wireless.Love the cable length adjustment feature.I used it this weekend and I think my tone was better than it has been wired. I've only used it once but it is built like a tank. Very easy to use.Plugged it in,set the channel and I was ROCKIN... Quick and easy setup.Can't think of anything right now... Superior to any other wireless unit I have used so far.
review title:

Would love this system... if it worked for more than 6 months.

By: PoppiG from Cardiff, CA, US      Submitted: 11/15/2013

Product Rating












2 people found this review helpful.
verified
Your general opinion of this product. Bought this unit "B Stock" from AMS in June with a 90-day warranty from Line 6. Although the equipment has been handled gently and stored in the original box in which it shipped, the unit stopped working this week and seems to be losing contact. I suspect it is the cable connector from guitar to transmitter. I ordered a replacement from Line 6 for $28 bucks (that's the cheap one). It's a bummer because I really love this system when it works. Tragic how warranties run out and then things break. No. It seems solid, but apparantly the cables are poor quality and expensive to replace. Simple. Out of the box. All good when it works. Indistiguishable from being plugged in.
review title:

Fantastic!

By: Bassplayer70364 from Houma, LA      Submitted: 9/10/2013

Product Rating












verified
Your general opinion of this product. This is my first venture into going wireless, even after 30 years of playing music. I never trusted the wireless approach, I guess. Well, I couldn't be any happier with this product. I've heard many great things about Line 6 products, and I did my research before settling on this one. I read the reviews and decided this was the one for me, plus with AMS's staggered payment system, it's a no-brainer. I used it for the first time last weekend at a gig at a small club, and together with my wireless in-ear monitors, I was able to venture out into the audience with my bass and actually dance some with the ladies and they ate it up! I love being wireless, and this Line 6 product is simple, well-built, rugged, and clear as a bell! I highly recommend this one -- if you can read simple directions, you can use this wireless system! Very well-built and rugged! Not cheap plastic crap like other systems use. If you can read, you can use it! Very simple to set-up and was using within 5 minutes of opening the package. Best feature? The rugged, sturdy construction, for one. Also, the crystal clear sound and ease of use. The battery life indicator is on top of the strap pack, so no bending into a pretzel or taking the pack off to see how much battery life you have left. Awesome -- no complaints!
review title:

money well spent

By: michael chambers from madeira beach fl      Submitted: 8/20/2013

Product Rating












verified
review title:

Awesome Gizmo!

By: Dave from Southlake, Perth, Western Australia, dbailey@iinet.net.au      Submitted: 8/16/2013

Product Rating












verified
review title:

Great Bang for the Buck

By: Brian      Submitted: 8/9/2013

Product Rating












verified
review title:

Awww Yeeaauh!

By: The Mando from Gilbert, AZ      Submitted: 7/27/2013

Product Rating












verified
Your general opinion of this product. This is one SWEET, high quality device... This thing is built for WORK... metal and solid. NEVER trip over a wire again!!! It COULDN'T be easier...literally plug & play (although I did read all the directions first...which wasn't much) This is a MUST OWN device! Simple and Easy to use... I get overwhelmed easy when there's too many choices... this thing is so simple. You don't have to be tech savvy. If I can use it...ANYONE can. Perfect...absolutely NO difference than with a high quality cable. (BYE BYE cables!)And it works all the way out to 200 feet sweet as pie. No tonal degradation at all. Just like the pro's.
review title:

Works great

By: Nate Woodward from Georgia VT      Submitted: 7/8/2013

Product Rating












verified
review title:

Everything I was searching for

By: Andrew Toussaint from Saint Albans, Vermont, USA      Submitted: 7/7/2013

Product Rating












verified
review title:

worth it

By: Scott from Aliso Viejo CA      Submitted: 6/29/2013

Product Rating












verified
review title:

Great product. Works flawlessly

By: Ed K from Indiana      Submitted: 3/16/2013

Product Rating












1 person found this review helpful.

Seems to be very well made. Sturdy and roadworthy. Just the overall performance of the whole system. I tried other Digital Wireless systems before I ended up with the Line6. Nothing compares in the same price range. A caveman could do it! I can't tell the difference in the wireless and a cable. Pretty incredible. Your general opinion of this product. I love it. So far so good.
review title:

Nice compact unit.

By: funkylarry from Frostburg, MD, USA      Submitted: 5/24/2012

Product Rating












1 person found this review helpful.

Yes. A very sturdy product. Like it the way it is. Worked out of the box. Pleased with the sound. Your general opinion of this product. A worthwhile purchase.
review title:

The BEST sounding wireless I've ever used!

By: Mike Cochrane (Lead Guitar / Lead Vocal) from Toluca Lake, CA., USA, mikecochrane@yahoo.com      Submitted: 3/4/2012

Product Rating










1 person found this review helpful.

I have only been using these wireless' for a short time, but I did my homework before purchasing. Everyone I talked with that have been using them have had NO PROBLEMS! The only problem anyone had was one guitarist whos rack of gear was kept back stage. These don't like to go through walls and lighting trusses. Once the receiver was brought onstage... no more issues. I personally have had no issues so far. Small enough to go on your pedalboard, built sturdy and works great. Range is less than the VHF units I have been using for years, but thanks to HD TV they don't work most of the time any more. 2.4Ghz should never have interference and is universal all over the world. No more renting Yamaha wireless units in Japan. These work everywhere, and the range is more than most performers will ever need! Malual is great, but almost not needed. Take this unit out of the box, install the batteries, select a channel and you're done. It's that simple! As far as tone and level, I have done many, many comparisons and cannot detect ANY difference between a cord and this wireless. Attack, level and tone exactly the same as a cord. In the past with my VHF units, everything was so close that I was fine with it, but this is beyond close... There is NO DIFFERENCE!
review title:

Great Wireless System!

By: WarriorClass III from Katy, TX, USA      Submitted: 8/12/2011

Product Rating











This is a very well made system, but the transmitter cord could have been better. It is silent, which is great, but dosen't seem as well made as the rest of the gear. That's not too big of a problem since there are a lot of aftermarket suppilers of these cables. Just don't get one with the Neutrick Silent Plug, those things go out very easily and quickly, and then have a bad hum. This is a well made product, not some cheap plastic sh!t. Works great, sounds great, batteries last a long time. It dosen't have a power switch, which would be nice since you have to unplug it after each use, which is why I gave it 4 stars for features. Any idiot can use this. It's that simple. No manual needed. The tone is great. No difference from a cord.
review title:

Incredible!!

By: D.L. from Newnan, GA, USA      Submitted: 7/26/2011

Product Rating










1 person found this review helpful.

Well made, metal casings. Can stand up to being dropped and used every night. Range and clarity are the 2 most outstanding features of this unit. Simply a breeze - take it out, plug it in, match the channels and start jammin' Just like being plugged in - sound is better than I ever expected, and has adjustment for cable length preferred.
review title:

Best Wireless for the money!

By: Birdie_in_Texas from D/FW, Texas in the great USA      Submitted: 4/12/2011

Product Rating











It is all metal. Solid as a rock. Transmitter as well as the receiver, but heavy duty and road-worth. This wireless sounds better than cabled connections IMHO. You can set it any way you want and have 12 channels for hassle free communication. The thing is all metal, you will be stunned with how much the transmitter pack weighs! Works better than my Shure ever did! Way more range than you will need, and easy on the batteries! As simple as it gets. Plug it in, turn it on, set the channel and the transmitter and receiver bind together and you are cookin'..! It is the same as being plugged in with a cable, if not better, as you can change your sound with the on-board knob on the receiver to match how long of a cable you normally use.
review title:

Better than cable

By: Dustin Lane from Williamsburg, Virginia, US      Submitted: 4/6/2011

Product Rating











Both the receiver and the body pack are made out of metal, it can withstand drops. I thoroughly enjoy how easy this system was to set up and start playing. I don't use the Cable Tone feature, instead I run it wide open with Zero Capacitance. The pure digital signal is to die for. This product was stupid easy to set up. Pick a channel on the receiver and the body pack, plug in and start rocking. Pure and transparent. In some respects the digital signal surpasses that of a high quality cable.
review title:

PURE DIGITAL AWESOMENESS

By: Christian Cedeno from Bronx, NY, US, anonmyous58136      Submitted: 3/31/2011

Product Rating











The metal pedal enclosure and heavy duty transmitter unit are definitely built to last! This wireless system is NOTHING short of AMAZING! From it's 200ft range to it's "cable tone" simulator to it's digital channel selector to it's straight up reliability, this is a MUST have for all wireless guitar system enthusiasts! Everyone from professional gigers to "sit at home practicers", you guys neeeeed to get this! Plus, it runs on just 2 AA batteries!! :D PEICE OF CAKE! Manual very easy and simple to understand. Extremely playable and easy to use. GREAT! Simulates "cable tone" as well!