Item Reviews for: Zoom H4n Handy Portable Digital Recorder  -  ZOO H4N LIST
Zoom H4n Handy Portable Digital Recorder
review title:

This thing is amazing!

By: Eric      Submitted: 2/10/2015

Product Rating




verified
Product Rating Product Review Incredible audio, versatile, picks up everything you need in addition you can add microphones and you can record four tracks. What I did not realize is it comes with a Cubase download. Too many features to remember! Incredible item.
review title:

WORTH EVERY PENNY!

By: Ron Austin,ra4219@aol.com      Submitted: 1/21/2015

Product Rating




verified
Product Review OVERALL A FANTASTIC UNIT, HAS ALL YOU COULD NEED IN A HAND HELD RECORDER. I WOULD RECOMMEND A CARRY CASE AND THE REMOTE ASSESSORY KIT.
review title:

"I love this thing" "Well worth the money"

By: WooZ from Oregon      Submitted: 4/11/2014

Product Rating














verified
review title:

Very good portable recorder for most needs

By: Tim from Portland, Oregon      Submitted: 9/7/2012

Product Rating















Solid product that works well in most environments. 3 basic ways to record - Stereo, 4-channel, multi-track. Variety of inputs: XLR inputs, built-in Stereo mics, mic/line inputs. Easy to read display. Various setup options. Storage on SD cards so no limit to amount of storage. Good USB interface to copy audio to PC and interact with PC for updates and as an audio interface. Read the manual, practice a bit and you are up and running. excellent audio specs and performance Only issue so far is the door for SD cards is a bit flimsy and can open and eject the card, which will cause any unsaved audio recorded to be aborted. Be careful and you will be fine. Your general opinion of this product. They hit a home-run with this one because they listened to users and updated the product based on their feedback.
review title:

Good to go

By: micslinger from U.S.      Submitted: 8/27/2012

Product Rating














1 person found this review helpful.

very well made, looking forward to a long relationship if you use recorders, you got it made very easy, even the deeper menus are simple great capture, even the onboard speaker sounded okay good so far Your general opinion of this product. if you want to capture with options and portability, this is it
review title:

A Great Workhorse!

By: Ron E. Dee from N. Prov. RI      Submitted: 1/6/2012

Product Rating













Very well made. Again, it could use a little more protection around the plastic mics. And a better carrying case... the compromise ok by me for a great sound, and reachable price. Definitely the 4 track simul-recording! The only feature I would add is a metal bar over the built-in mics. I had one pop off on me when taking a light blow from a tri-pod. Fortunately it didn't require an expensive repair. Also, the plastic cases with [both, I have 2!] of my H4n's are not good protectors, and the latches spring open unexpectedly from time-to-time. I agree with most that say it's a bit complicated getting started...but if you use it frequently you'll zip through the settings and controls. As stated by me and others who own this product, it's just great compared to anything in the price range! I shoot video and use (2)H4's on mic stands in corners of the rooms, and just let them run all night in stamina mode. I get a feed from the board, and use my camera mic. I then striped them all down in a my editing software, and have fun getting an incredible sound that rivals some of the best concert footage I've ever listened to! I also have a few originals bands that I play guitar with, and we record EVERYTHING!! I've made pro-sounding, finished CD's from casual jam sessions using the H4n, and my editing/mastering sw! Just an awesome tool to have! Don't hesitate to buy one for work or play. You'll LOVE IT! FIRST OFF....WHY are people writing a review here that haven't used the product but for a week??!! That's just ludicris. I've owned my first H4Nn for a year, I picked up a second H4n a few months ago. Except for the bump I had mentioned earlier, both units have performed perfectly ...and indeed have survived falls on "concrete" to the bodies only. The built-in plastic mics will break with a direct hit. I tape the windscreens on [needed or not] for added physical protection. Your general opinion of this product. For the dough?! There's NOTHING that can compete with the sound quailty and versatility of these units! My only complaint is with the over-ladden, feature fest. Most users will never use the effects, or tuner... and metronome?!
review title:

This took my production to another level

By: John Alford      Submitted: 12/23/2011

Product Rating













It wont survive mant drops on concrete, but its ok Has all the features a musician or film producer will need. Very easy to use Always gets the job done Your general opinion of this product. This is a great product
review title:

Great recorder

By: rene hall from washington, d.c.      Submitted: 5/18/2011

Product Rating













Very easy to use Very easy great very well Just got it. Your general opinion of this product. Excellent Your general opinion of this product. I love it
review title:

Enjoying my new zoom

By: 42filmrocks from Houston, TX USA      Submitted: 4/8/2011

Product Rating













Yes. I just wish for a flexible pouch to clip on my belt. The best is that it is a 4 channel recorder so I have many options. This is an easy product. I used it with a ntg-2 and I really liked the recording. Good, just lower the volume and put the wind cover on and its cool. Haven't had it that long. So I don't know but will let you know someday. Your general opinion of this product. This is a very good product. I like it.
review title:

Takes a lickin and keeps on...

By: Video Guy from La,ca      Submitted: 3/25/2011

Product Rating













Good, would love to see a bit more protection over the elements and a easier to fit foam cover. Manual requires a bit of study as it has A lot of functionality, also update the firmware as the company seems responsive to glitches via updates. would love to see the next model be about 30 percent smaller and lighter to be useful as capture device for a lav mic capture device, or a shoe mount for a SLR/video camera mount (see H-1 for that). A wireless remote would be awesome as well, though the wired is nice for most applications. Has a mono mode for "shotgun" quality. Love the adjustable 90/120 degree heads! I have had this fine contraption for just over 2 years and have recorded hundreds of hours of audio with it, mostly as a sermon recorder for pro videos, works wonderfully as a very live stereo capture, and very good for small acoustic bands/vocals. Luscious live sweetness. Solid performer Your general opinion of this product. Good value, Bought it from AMS, great customer service! Great product!
review title:

Simply Amazing!

By: Russell Foust Jr from Carlisle Pa USA      Submitted: 3/10/2011

Product Rating













Seems to be very well made and has been very dependable regarding recording setup and off loads. Recording is a snap and to create/off load MP3's to a PC is done in a blink of an eye. Very, very simple to use. The H4N is intuitive and simple to use and one of the best purchases I've been in regard to recording devices. The resulting wave or MP3 sound quality is outstanding! So far so good. I have only had the product for a few weeks. However, as a musican, turning on the H4N and hooking up mics in a snap gives me the freedom to work on my songs, not spend creative time figuring out how to hookup mics or get the recorder to function! Your general opinion of this product. Zoom H4N rocks! Wow, GREAT sound quality of the generated Wave and MP3's. Play back sound quality on the device itself is ok, but is to be expected due to the speaker size. The H4N easily allows external mic hookup giving the recorder the ability to have a terrific overhead type recording. The internal mics pick up every little detail. With the addition of two external mics, you've got an excellent sound quality recording! And to then move the recording to a PC as either a wave or MP3...oh my....so easy and extremely quick!
review title:

Great Recorder

By: Sonic from USA, azfixit777@yahoo.com      Submitted: 3/8/2011

Product Rating













Yes. 1/4" are tight maybe too tight. Display, controls, and menu. portable four track Very easy Very easy to use great very well Just got it. Your general opinion of this product. I love it Your general opinion of this product. Excellent
review title:

Most useful audio tool

By: MSepello from Sherburne, NY, USA, numbervi@hotmail.com      Submitted: 2/23/2011

Product Rating













No complaints whatesoever with the build quality, dependability, or features of this product and highly recommend it. It's really hard to pick this unit's "best feature" because it does so many thing well. If I'm forced to pick one, I'll go with the sound quality from the built in mics. The manual is well written for this product and once you start playing around in the setting, you learn where to find things pretty quickly. Recordings come out crystal clear and I can count on it for professional use when filming commercials. I have had no trouble at all with the build quality and it seems very solid. Your general opinion of this product. I give this produc t the highest marks because I have used it in all sorts of environments and it has come through for me every time. I originally bought this as a location audio recorder for capturing voice with a shotgun mic and boom pole for TV and short film projects. It's great to be able to pop out the card and let the director just dump the files onto his/her laptop when the shoot is done. I've also used this as a 24bit audio interface when I've needed to do work outside the studio. I ran my Neumann TLm-49 into a Focusrite ISA One mic preamp and into the H4n which was the audio interface for my computer running Cubase 5. It worked perfectly and the commercial we were shooting came out sounding fantastic. It is also the best little recorder for capturing song ideas as my band is in the practice studio. It's so easy to set this up on a microphone stand and set the input level. The recordings come out clear as day! I can't think of anything I would like it to do better.
review title:

Hot Recorder!

By: Smoothbassman      Submitted: 1/22/2011

Product Rating













Its pretty solid. Haven't had it that long so time will tell. I keep it in a hard SKB case when it's not in use and when Im transporting it. Love the Multi track recording. As well as the ability to record a line in from an external analog device. Very clean recordings using 24 bit wave files. After the initial setup for your job. It is very easy to use. I wish that the menu button was on the front of the device along with the control wheel. It would make using the device much easier. Works very well with the wired remote control. Very natural sounding from the line-in. The pre-amp for the mics are very good. The onboard mics are crisp but just are just a tad bass heavy. Only had it a month and it has worked every time I have needed it to. Your general opinion of this product. Very nice recorder. I love the remote control and the sound quality. Love that you can plug this into your computer via USB and use it as an interface.
review title:

Awesome!

By: J.G. from Madera      Submitted: 11/9/2010

Product Rating













Quality seem pretty solid.. It feels pretty sturdy. I would only worry about dropping it and having one of the mics break off, but it looks like if you take care of it, it'll last for years. Too many features to list just one. I like that you can record 4 tracks simultaneously. It's easy to point and record straight away. Looks kind of complicated if you want to use all of the features. Sound quality is good using the onboard mics. My husband recorded himself playing an upright bass and you could hear all the notes and clicks very clearly. I haven't tried to mic anything or use a d.i. yet, but if the onboards are a clue, it should sound stellar. I've only had it a month. Time will tell, but I own the Zoom H4 and it's lasted for about five years. This one looks to be built even better than the H4. Your general opinion of this product. Looks cooler and sturdier than the original Zoom 4. Comes with Cubase software and a little plastic case to hold the Zoom H4n which I thought was pretty cool (the H4 didn't).
review title:

Great Tool

By: Scredly from Providence, RI , USA, scredco@hotmail.com      Submitted: 9/25/2010

Product Rating













I don't think it'll survive a drop onto concrete. Build quality meet or exceeds price. I love the 4-Ch mode. I take vocal only and instrument only sub group outs from the mixer to the line inputs and align in a DAW with the mic tracks to make excellent live board recordings. Use is pretty straight forward. Excellent sound quality. Mic pres can be a little noisy if cranked. So far, so good. Your general opinion of this product. Excellent value.
review title:

Impressive little machine

By: Bob      Submitted: 6/16/2010

Product Rating













very good Having built in mikes AND 2 XLR & guitar jack inputs learning curve not too steep, the manual could be clearer great So far,so good.Too soon to tell,really. Your general opinion of this product. Other than the inferior & difficult to install Cubase LE4 software included,I'm completely satisfied
review title:

Zoom H4n is worth the $

By: Dmac1971 from Northeast, PA drummer      Submitted: 4/21/2010

Product Rating













Overall the unit seems quite sturdy and well built. I have read where people were reporting issues with the SD card door but I have had no problem with it. You cannot beat the touch and go recording once you get it set to where you need it. I run 2 XLR cables from my drum module into the XLR inputs on the H4n and it does exactly what I need. Then I simply take the SD card and download the recordings to my desktop. It is awesome! I also like the fact that you can attach it to a simple tripod for use. This works great set up within my drum kit. I only gave a three due to so much that can be done with the H4n. It takes a long time to get to know all of its fetaures. The rating isn't a put down at all. Just be prepared to put some time in to access all of its features. The sound overall is quite good. I have had no issues with my recordings. Of course its not the same as a high end mixing scenario but you will be pleasantly surprised with the sound quality. Only have it a month so I really can't comment on this area yet but it does seem pretty durable. Just like any other piece of equipment. Take care of it and it should last you a long time. Your general opinion of this product. Worth every penny for the features you get!
review title:

Great for the money

By: Nick R. from Seattle, WA      Submitted: 4/12/2010

Product Rating













Great product. Would, and have, recommended to friends. Versatility... works for several situations. Menus are a little bit of a pain, but once one memorizes them, it's a snap. Seems like the built in mics are adequate, if not "good," and use with external mics and sources is wonderful. Seems that with normal use, it'll work great. Like the plastic case, simple but effective. Your general opinion of this product. Very handy, high quality. Like it a lot.
review title:

A whole lot of pro in a little package!

By: Danny from Uptown from land of liberty      Submitted: 3/18/2010

Product Rating













absolutely! if you're on the fence, leap off! Buy it! the xlr inputs were by far the biggest selling point for me. its pretty no brainer stuff, you should be up and running in a matter of minutes, but its always good to peruse the manual, although I never do. good for the price, it's not Sound Device or anything, but no complaints so far. the jury is still out. Your general opinion of this product. so far so good, this summer should be a good test of its durability as I have several shoots i'll be using this on, but with the solid build quality I'm not very concerned.
review title:

Zoom H4N

By: Anthony G. - Drummer - Musician from Mission Viejo, CA      Submitted: 3/6/2010

Product Rating













Indeed well made, good solid hard shell clam style case is included. A bit bulky but look at all that you get for the price. This unit is indeed jam packed. So many features to say which is the best. Perhaps the 96k/24 Bit recording. Sure, it uses up more disc space but what a differnce between recording in MP or 96/24 - Night and day. ALso the multi track bouncing feature - very cool. In order to obtain the max potential of this device you might need a bit of background in 4 track recording. Personally, I have limited knowledge her but am willing to explore. The manual is somewhat arcane and takes a bit of getting used to. Navigation wasn't as bad as some say. Like anything else, its awkward on 1st or 2nd use. It gets easier once you begin to memorize the navigation which is logical from a hierarchial standpoint There are several Limiter options. Be sure to check those out. Sound quality was quite good though in one of our songs the auto lmiiting feature started out too loud, then got lower then to normal. I re-EQ'd the WAV tracks with a bass frequency additive as it was a bit thin though sound was crisp. This could be also that our bassist was a bit low in volume. Too new to say. Only flimsy part of the unti is the door that opens where the SD card gets inserted. Could have been better constructed. ALl else seems solid. Your general opinion of this product. Highly recommended. Once we recorded our band rehearsal we then became the audience and were able to hear accurately our mistakes and where we needed improvement
review title:

Decent with exceptions

By: Brian R. from Columbia, SC, USA, anonmyous44731      Submitted: 2/26/2010

Product Rating













So far this seems like a rock, really solid. But only had a short while.. Mic in and guitar in (what I bought it for in the first place) seem fine and easy to use. The mounted stereo mics on the device record easily enough, but sounds like it's underwater (digital artifacts bigtime). That might be a setting error on my part (still trying to figure the manual out). Bought to use as easy to use USB guitar interface for my computer. Can't really say I'm the best one to rate this. Just got about 3 wks ago. So far very steep learning curve for an amateur such as I am, even though, would be easier to pick up if I spoke Japanese as a second language (broken English throughout the rather long-winded manual). A few months longer should tell me more about ease of use. Tinny mounted speaker is accurate, no distortion, but only a monitor for handheld, so don't expect bose sound. The recorded stuff played through another device seems ok to me, no complaints. Only few weeks old, so far, so good. Your general opinion of this product. Good solid device. Lots of features. In for long haul & I expect to work it all out once I have a better handle on how to use it.
review title:

A great machine!

By: Robert L. Smith from New York, NY      Submitted: 2/21/2010

Product Rating













Feels like it is built very well Sound is beautiful. Like the ability to record with 4 inputs at one time. Only thing that is not perfect is the handling noise. Meaning set your levels and don't touch it if you want a clean recording. I plan on getting the remote control to get rid of this problem Very easy to use, though to be fair I'm a recording engineer Sound is great. I will be happy to use this in even pro sessions as an additional recording system I've only had it for a month, so far so good. Your general opinion of this product. So far I'm very happy with it. I needed an excellent quality recorder with tons of recording time and a USB connection so I can dump the files straight into my computer
review title:

Outstanding Recorder

By: Roland      Submitted: 1/29/2010

Product Rating













Solid parts, nothing cheap at all. I use this product more that I use my top of the line gear. Gives me a solid recording all the time The mic pres are solid. Use as a recorder, player, and to upload files to my computer. Use it with an 8gig flish card and gets well over 12 sermons recorded before having to empty the card This product is so easy to use until I haven't read the manual since I purchased it 5 months ago Sound quality is crisp and clean. I really hesitated before purchasing this item, but the clean crisp sound make me glad that I made this purchase Never have it once stop recording. Use it to record sermans at church and it delivers everytime Your general opinion of this product. I was using the masterlink to record sermans at my church. I need something compact with excellent sound. The sound quality is just as good as my masterlink
review title:

Features!

By: Dan Zimmerman from Minnesota      Submitted: 1/5/2010

Product Rating













Good quality aside from the amount of handling noise while holding the H4n 4-channel recording, guitar simulator, metronome, tuner, audio interface, etc. The 4-channel possibility is the only reason I chose the H4n over the Sony PCM-D50 Ease of use is okay. Definitely don't look to the manual for help. Terrible translation to English makes it virtually unreadable. Haven't had a chance to compare my personal recordings with other similar equipment. Your general opinion of this product. Great product overall. Definitely worth the price. My personal sound effects library has been expanding dramatically with all the field recording I've been doing with the H4n.
review title:

small box-big sound

By: stringbender from somewhere in northern Ohio      Submitted: 12/11/2009

Product Rating













As far as the recorder, I wouldn't change a thing. My only complaint is the included CD that came with it. While it still loaded fine, it looks like somebody stepped on it. The bottom was all scratched up. I originally bought it to record my original music. But after seeing everything it can do, I use it for much more now. I take it with me and record all our gigs. You wouldn't believe how much you can learn from listening to your gigs. We are much better musicians because of this machine. It looks really intimidating, with all the features it has. But if you just learn one feature at a time, it's really quite easy to use. Alot of thought went into the design to make it user friendly. Better than CD quality, and I am very picky. I've used it twice a week for about two months now. No problems yet. Your general opinion of this product. This machine is worth every penny of what I paid for it. I would not hesitate to purchase it again, and highly recommend it to anyone who wants a top quality digital recorder.
review title:

Worst ever

By: from , zovall@myway.com      Submitted: 11/13/2009

Product Rating













Its fragile. The 32 gig card is a good feature, but so far i've only used 8 gig cards. I've owned an Edirol and a small zoom recorder under 350 of far better sound quality...This one... the moment I used it I repented from buying it. First of all the wind is an annoyance if you record outside and happen to lose your wind screen your recorded material will sound like a storm even under soft wind. Right now the volume goes crazy,(uncontrolled),the ear phone is broken and zoom sent it back to me unrepaired after having it there for almost a month.... Id buy the new Marantz instead..in fact I'm saving for it. ZOOM CAN ONLY BUILD TOYS that break easily and can't even repair the damage. The cheap zoom (four hidden mics)worked far better (200$) Broke first month. Your general opinion of this product. It sucks.
review title:

IF I CAN USE IT, ANYBODY CAN

By: Ramiro L Guzman from Walnut Creek CA, alcatras4@netzero.net      Submitted: 9/29/2009

Product Rating













It feels solid inyour hand. Not too heavy, not too light. It should very well withstrand the rigourous recording schedule that I have....24/7. The only thing the vulnearability of the built-in mics. Be carefull not to drop it or it won't be pretty. I hate to see grown men cry. WOW, where do I begin. For starters you can record a guitar and vocal with it built-in mics. Sweet sound. It has a four track mode and an MTP mode where you can layer tracks one at a time and bounce them anyway you want with absolutley no degradation in sound, unlike older 4 track machines. You can convert cassettes and LPs to CD quality tracks. If you are into documentaries you can press record and record the wind, trees and birds the way they were meant to be. For interviews, you can even hear the person talking breath! And I haven't even mentioned the bundled CUBASE LE software. This is a do-everything recorder. I probably won't use all it's features, but I'll be digging in deeper and keep you posted. Took it out of the box and started recording! I am currently using it in MTP (ultitrack mode). It took a little getting used to because on button has different uses, but it certainly isn't rocket science. I already have a few cd quality songs ready to e-mail to my publisher. In basic record mode even a kid can use it. In MTP it is a little more elaborate but not out of this worldy hard. I even edited a vocal patch that I tailored to my style of singing and saved it. Hey, I was used to the "old school" style. I had and old Tascam 4 track for demos. I was kind of skeptical, but now I am sold on this redorder. IF I CAN USE IT, ANYBODY CAN. I talked with my producer over the phone and told him I was sending some songs that I had in the can. He heard them over the phone when I was getting them together and asked "what studio are you renting? I mean,you don't have to spend all that money for demos.He almost fell out of his chair when I told him what I was using. He has been producing for 25 or thirty years and he has been in the best studios in Hollywood, Miami and Mexico City and it fooled him. He couldn't believe that this small thing was what I was using. It is rubber coated on the outside which is why I decided to buy it over the original H4. The only thing I wish it had is a cover for the built-in mics. I cringe whenever imagine it falling down. I have had it for five days now, I haven't turned the thing off because when inspiration arrives it's got to be ready and it has not failed. Five straight...well six with today...of it working 24/6 and it is solid as a rock. Your general opinion of this product. If you only buy one piece of equipment this year....this is it. The ease of use, the multi-task laden features, the portability, and last but not least the sweet sound of this machine is awesome. If you are a guitarists, singer, writer, producer, it even has a Karaoke feature for you Karaoke singers, if you are into documentaries, interviews, recording concerts or seminars, sampling, need something portable with great sound AND are on a budget, buy it with your eyes closed. You absolultly won't regret it.
review title:

The swiss army knife of audio recorders.

By: Van L. from Santa Cruz      Submitted: 8/20/2009

Product Rating













Over all, the H4n is pretty solidly built. It seems to be a hybrid of a metal skeleton covered with a plastic grip material (Better than the H4, but I would have liked a more rubbery grip). The only cheap part of the H4n is the SD port cover. Very flimsy and feels like it could fall off at any moment. Also, the included windscreen is useless. If want to use the built-in mics, a third part softie is a must buy. The Zoom H4n pretty much has every feature you could want (4 channel recording, MP3 recording, XLR inputs, USB interface, Tuner, Metronome, the list is endless!) at the expense of the user interface. The menu is dubiously designed and the placement of the buttons isn't ideal. The H4n isn't as easy to use as some of it's competition (eg. the Edirol), but its easy enough to figure out basic recording without cracking open the manual. The built-in mics are surprisingly good quality. They work in both 120° and 90° modes. The only problem with the built in mics is their high susceptibility to handling noise. Plugging in an external mic fixes this. Hasn't failed me. (Yet...) Your general opinion of this product. Over all, the H4n is a good value. It's overly complicated due to all the extra features, but if you can live with that then I recommend it.
review title:

Great Value - Great Sound

By: Bernie Parsons from So. California      Submitted: 8/4/2009

Product Rating













Well made and dependable The product just arrived in the last week, but I would like an easy way to convert some 4-track reel to reel live recordings I made on my old TEAC so I can preserve them digitally - I think this may be the answer, but just in case. I had an earlier version of the Zoom (the H2) and loved the sound quality, portability, features and price of that unit. This adds a lot more features, a larger screen and ruggedness to that earlier version - Great value and sound! Excellent This seems much better built than earlier incarnations - doing well and I also bought the road case for this one. Your general opinion of this product. Great product - everyone is very impressed with the size, ease of use and the amazing quality of the recordings. The new, larger capacity are very welcome for live shows, etc.
review title:

Great for those of us who hate complicated recording set-ups!

By: NR Jeffery (LadyFingers) from Tampa, FL USA      Submitted: 7/21/2009

Product Rating













I purchased the entire package, carrying case with remote, and headphones. The unit itself is rubberized to prevent slipping. I like that, It can also be mounted on a mic stand. Since I haven't used many features, I can only talk about how easy it is to just turn on and record.....and it's EASY!! I would add the features of the Q3 so I wouldn't have to buy it now!!! (just kidding!) So far, I've only used it to record in stereo mode, and it's SO simple, and sounds great! I intend to explore the other modes next. Anxious to use the comp limit function, and others. Recorded a gig over the weekend, and it sounds GREAT! Amazing......When I listened to my first recording thru the built in speaker, I wasn't happy, but when I put on the headphones.......wonderful!! Your general opinion of this product. I love it!!
review title:

great box

By: calaverasgrande from Oakland CA      Submitted: 6/14/2009

Product Rating













seems well made. Though I wish they had placed the buttons better. I wish it was smaller though and had less buttons. I also wish it did not suffer so badly from handling noise. You really can not do anything while it is recording. If you move, change your grip, or click the button to leave a marker, then it will be audible. Also, the windscreen is a joke. As is the case. I wish it came with a better windscreen, and a case which protects it while allowing access to the buttons. Kind of like the ones you canget for the marantz and sony recorders. the recording quality is better than I thought it would be. Shortly after purchasing it I recorded a blues act at a nightclub, just setting the recorder on the table in front of me. Sounds so good its like you are there. The mic stand adapter is a joke. Just get a camera mount to mic stand mount at any film/camera store. the buttons are very awkwardly placed. It is not too easy to navigate the menus either. It works very well, but as a 2nd/3rd generation product I would expect a bit more of a well thought out feature set. I would much rather a rudimentary drum machine than the bland effects that come with it. I also dont see the value of effects you can not manipulate in real time. The builtin mics sound great. They are not Neumans. But neither are they terrible tinny toy mics. I am having a lot of fun field recording with this guy. Have only had it for a month so cant speak to this. Your general opinion of this product. It sounds great, but is hard to access certain features. The audio interface function works great btw. I am able to get 5ms latency on my laptop. 10ms if its a big mix.
review title:

H4N - Lots of features at a reasonable price.

By: Marco from Stony Brook, New York      Submitted: 6/8/2009

Product Rating













Overall, the unit seems well made. I expect that it will hold up well over time. Like any portable electronics, I wouldn't be too rough on it. I selected the H4N based on it having XLR inputs. Most hand-held units with XLR mic inputs were at higher price point. The other feature I wanted which the H4N has (and is fairly common with other units) is that it can be used as an audio input to a PC. One feature which I think is not too useful in real life is the 4 track recording studio. I haven't tried it, but it seems cumbersome to use on a hand held device. One feature I wish it had is pitch transposing. The unit also comes with a nice set of accessories (mike stand adapter, protective case, wind screen, cables, memory card). I found the unit very easy to use with minimal reading of the owners manual. The H4N has a built in speaker which is OK for a quick listen back, but does not sound great (as would be expected from a small speaker). Headsets or monitor speakers are the better way to listen to what you have recorded. I've only had it a week so can't comment. I am a bit concerned how the selection wheel on the side will hold up to long-term use, but I don't expect any problems. Your general opinion of this product. Overall, I'm very happy with the H4N. I plan on making it a regular accessory in my guitar case when I go for my lessons. Also on using it as an audio interface to my PC.
review title:

A WORD ABOUT CUSTOMER SERVICE!

By: REB from Bronx, New York, USA, Nameskhar@optimum.net      Submitted: 5/18/2009

Product Rating













Excellent for the money ... I have the modal just before this one, that one come with a table stand & mike attachment, this one has only the mike attachment. I was up and recording right out of the box. Tech instructions are easy, tech svc on the ball. No issues with the older modal, in fact, usually I look to give the older units away when I upgrade equiptment - NOT THIS TIME, I'm using them both ... Your general opinion of this product. Very satisfied. Customer Service is first-rate, a wrong bag filled part of my order: CS issued a new/right one with no hesitation (told me to keep the extra). I found part of my order cheaper elsewhere: CS invited to fill out the Match Price feature, I did, got an answer right-away: NO CAN DO, BUT WE CAN TAKE A FEW DOLLARS OFF; Ok that's cool, but it was not enough, I called CusSvc operator Nicole back - explained the situation, she fixed me up, very courteous, willing to work with me! THAT's HOW YOU KEEP YOUR CUSTOMERS, and I will be back!
review title:

Awesome recording tool!

By: M Romero from Colorado Springs, CO      Submitted: 5/3/2009

Product Rating













Very durable and ergonomic. Seems to be very dependable. Sound quality is it's biggest asset as well as it's intuitive features. Easy to use right out of the box! Very intuitive, well thought out ergonomics, user manual could be more helpful however. The sound quality is phenomenal, I was surprised at how well the on-board microphones work. So far so good, just got it a little over 2 weeks ago, survived an airplane flight from Colorado to Alaska. Your general opinion of this product. Excellent overall, very satisfied and HIGHLY recommended!
review title:

This thing is amazing!!!

By: Tim Umstead from Huntsville, AL, USA      Submitted: 4/26/2009

Product Rating













The zoom h4n is extremely well built. Only complaint I have is the plastic mic stand adapter is very fragile. Immediately had to glue it back together, but that is a very minor issue. adjustable record levels, compressor/limiters, XLR jacks for other mics, its own mics are phenomenal, size, quality of recordings, ASIO drivers to use as an audio interface The manual is helpful, but the unit is fairly straight forward already. The mics on the unit sound awesome, and with XLR inputs, well, hook whatever mic you want to it. The units own mics did a great job of capturing highs and lows. My bass comes through fine, and hi-hats and cymbals have wonderful clarity. Only had it a couple days, but so far, great except the mic stand adapter Your general opinion of this product. Love it, recorded band practice with the H4n in our little practice room and everybody cranked. Get the levels set right, press record and plan to be amazed. The quality of recording is outstanding!!