American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Native Instruments Maschine MK2 Groove Production Studio  -  NAT 2194 LIST

I am 100% blown away best purchase so far
By: michael      Submitted: 6/12/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Feel


Value


Was this review helpful?

Decent Controller, Greedy Company, Terrible Customer Service
By: Street Lit      Submitted: 12/3/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Feel


Value


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Fun to work with but has issues with Windcows 8 and Sonar
By: Vlada Astral from Norfolk, VA, USA      Submitted: 8/17/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Feel


Value


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? The product is fun to work with if you like sequencers. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Hardware itself is nicely built, buttons are pretty and glowing in the dark, nice response. Serious compatibility issue with Windows 8 and Sonar when using Maschine. Windows 8 not able to boot when Maschine connected to USB port. Computer goes in to restart loop and eventually fails and attempts to auto- repair and reverse system to the best known configuration (that is get rod of Komplete and Maschine. I have try everything. Tech support was usless, not able to resolve it. The files (drivers) on DVD are old- definitely not made for Windows 8. On my other Win. 8 computer that has no Sonar or Komplete installed, it takes about 4 minutes to start Windows, while normally it takes 15 seconds. There is problem with Windows 8 that is not being addressed. Ease of Use How user friendly is it? Would it work well for a beginner, intermediate or experienced player? It has some learning curve at first. I have years of experience with midi, and it took me several nights to figure out basic operations. I have compatibility issue with Windows 8 and Sonar when using Maschine. Features Are the features on the product what you were expecting? What are your favorite features? It has good features as a controller. Sound How is the sound quality? How does the sound compare to other products you've use? Useful. Feel How is the feel of the pads and controls? Are the controls laid out well? Good. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I think $600 is overkill for it, because you can get Novation and many other controllers for less. However, if you forget how much you pay and try not to think about it, it is a good toy.
I love the Maschine Mk2!!
By: Nathalie from Bronx      Submitted: 8/2/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Feel


Value


Was this review helpful?

Very nice production Maschine!
By: Elmer L. Hawkins AKA Dj LaHawk from South Holland,il USA, djlahawk@yahoo.com      Submitted: 6/17/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Feel


Value


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Coming from a background where my only experience was the MPC 2000, I am very satisfied with the MK2. Intergrating hardware with software was very wise. plus the large sound library that comes with makes the maschine the top choice for future sound designers and producers. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? I love the quality. working with a i3 processor there is no lag or hangup in the software. solid design easy set up of midi. Ease of Use How user friendly is it? Would it work well for a beginner, intermediate or experienced player? very user friendly Features Are the features on the product what you were expecting? What are your favorite features? everything i expected and more.....favorite feature is that you can change your drum pads to sound like a mpc60 or a sp1200 Sound How is the sound quality? How does the sound compare to other products you've use? Sound quality really depends on the computer and sound card you use. In my case the .wav sound bites are very crisp and clear. High quality! Feel How is the feel of the pads and controls? Are the controls laid out well? I feel confident when I sit down and make a beat. the controls are laid out in such a way that you dont really have to touch your keyboard or mouse. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Yes AMS not only priced match my product to a competitor with no problem but I also was able to break up my payments into 3 installments...This is my 3rd time buying a siziable priced instrument from them.
The Maschine is Awesome!
By: Michael Glover from Indianapolis, IN, USA      Submitted: 6/1/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Feel


Value


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? This product is top notch. From features, quality, feel to ease of use. The Maschine is very intuitive and has a very low learning curve. I was up and running making beats within a few days. Work flow is quick and getting your ideas smashed out is so easy. Note: I'm not a big manual learner, so I read through the manual, but watching several videos on You Tube and the NI site, as well as just jumping right on the Maschine, I picked it up with ease. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Quality of this product is top notch. You can use the Maschine for any genre of music. Ease of Use How user friendly is it? Would it work well for a beginner, intermediate or experienced player? The Maschine is very user friendly. I had an MPC2000 several years ago and I find the Maschine to be just as good if not better. Recommended for beginners or experienced producers. Features Are the features on the product what you were expecting? What are your favorite features? All of the features are way more than I expected. My favorite feature would have to be the new "Time Stretch". Sound How is the sound quality? How does the sound compare to other products you've use? Sound quality is supreme. Stands up to the MPC any day. Feel How is the feel of the pads and controls? Are the controls laid out well? The feel of the pads and controls are very professional and the controls are laid out with perfection. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I got way more than what I was expecting for the price. I will stick with the Maschine from here on out. Nothing else compares.
"Not as great as I hoped"
By: Richard      Submitted: 5/16/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Feel


Value


0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I got this to produce rhythms. It does not do compounded structures that allow for extended phrases joining a 4/4 with a 7/8 interjection. For music that is beyond the generic 4/4 or 3/4 realms of possibilities it is useless. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? It only works in a set metric format so music that needs metronomic change up combinations or even simple tempo changes cannot be produced with this unit. Ease of Use How user friendly is it? Would it work well for a beginner, intermediate or experienced player? It is extremely difficult to use unless all you want to do it elevator music boring beats. Features Are the features on the product what you were expecting? What are your favorite features? I was expecting a product that could help produce interesting music. This does it in a very minor way. Sound How is the sound quality? How does the sound compare to other products you've use? Sound quality is good. Feel How is the feel of the pads and controls? Are the controls laid out well? The controls are like anything else you have to learn how to work them. They are well laid out yes. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I would not know. As far as I've been able to know through research it is a good example of the best out there in this type of unit.
The best groovebox out there
By: Amit Sen from Los Angeles, CA, USA      Submitted: 1/27/2013

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


General




Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Excellent build. High quality design/quality. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The is probably the best software-hardware integration setup out there. The device can be operated without even looking at the computer screen/software. As long as the MK2 is plugged into the computer/laptop, you are good to go just by looking at the built in screen. I have searched enough, and couldn't find anything that has this good software-hardware integration. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Extremely easy to use. Just drag-and-drop using mouse, or just select the preset sound (thousands of them) from the groove box itself. All effects can be manipulated/tweaked using the built in knobs. Sound How is the tone? Thousands of them. Too many to count, especially since it also includes MASSIVE. Sound quality is just comparable with the best out there. General Your general opinion of this product. The perfect product. All you need is the MK2 and a laptop. That's it. I am serious. That's all you need. With this dynamic duo, you can create music you haven't produced before. However, you may also need a small MIDI keyboard (25 keys or 37 keys) to get the ease of use. Value Was this item an overall good value? Excellent. The best full service music production setup for under $1000 dollars.
Loading....