Item Reviews for: Taylor GS Mini Acoustic Guitar with Gigbag  -  TAY GSMINI LIST

Taylor Has Gone Downhill!
By: Daniel Kennett      Submitted: 7/16/2016
verified
Product Rating




Product Rating Product Review This is my 3rd Taylor and until now I really thought there was NO OTHER guitar to buy. I've played other GS Minis and always wanted to pick one up as a travel piece. The one that they sent me was a "piece" alright... The action was so high that unless they tested it with a slide then I don't really see how they even played it. I am VERY UNHAPPY with this GS Mini. I own a 414 and a 714 and both play like butter. I am not comparing a GS Mini to a full size, I am simply saying that Taylor sent me a piece of garbage and they need to seriously review the performance of whoever is QAing these before they ship. If you want a travel guitar I would look at something different or buy an older GS Mini.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great smaller guitar
By: GuitarCrazy      Submitted: 2/16/2015
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Big sound in a smaller package.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Wow, a Little Canon With Awesome Sound!
By: Joseph Jacobs      Submitted: 1/9/2015
verified
Product Rating




Product Review The mahogany top GS Mini was nice - no doubt about it. So my spruce top GS Mini arrived yesterday. It sounds and plays fantastic. There's so much more color and complexity in the solid spruce top - I really was blown away. You will be too!
5 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
The Best Out of The Box Experience I've Ever Had!
By: RCB-CA-USA      Submitted: 11/17/2014
verified
Product Rating




Product Review It came dry as a bone but the Planet Waves humid packs fixed that. Amazing attention to detail. The sound is superb. The value, extraordinary. I adjusted the neck flat and played the 13-56 Elixir factory strings for months, but the 13-56's are a bit too heavy for me. I put on Elixir 12-53's, wow! The guitar sounds even better and plays like sweet, hot butter! The lighter strings are crystal clear as compared to the louder but slightly muddy medium strings, the mediums just overwhelm this guitar, the 12-53's, perfect. I've used the Taylor restring method before I owned a Taylor, it's the best way to string a guitar. I restrung this one and it tuned perfectly, quickly. I put a hint of relief in the neck for the lighter strings. This thing dialed in perfectly. So, it's built strong and accurate. The lighter strings made it easier for my slightly thick fingers, I can relax instead of focusing on perfect fretting. Get one of these guitars, for sure, 100%!
7 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great guitar for my collection
By: Mikey Parker      Submitted: 5/25/2014
verified
Product Rating
















Product Review Great guitar for my collection. This is number 11 for me. The quality is great. The first thing I look at on a guitar is the neck and how it comes together. The new technology neck is just fantastic and should be a guitar I can give my son one day. The guitar feels great. It is a perfect size guitar for sitting on the couch and playing. It's not to small and boxy like my Martin LX1 or to large like my dreadnoughts. The tone is absolutely beautiful. I think the best of all my acoustics, and 2 of them are Martins. The guitar is pretty plain with a light finish for good aging. This guitar was worth the money and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a guitar this size. The guitar is playable but the action is to high for me. I have had it a week and I am going to take it to my luthier next week.
1 of 15 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Best Travel Guitar Ever
By: Steve M from Phoenix,AZ      Submitted: 4/26/2012

Product Rating














Feels solid in your hands though it is light weight. This guitar stays in tune and isn't affected by little bumps. Like any good quality instrument. But what would you expect it's a Taylor? Your general opinion of this product. This instrument completely exceeded all my expectations.Playability, tone way out of portion to its size and cost. Plays like a dream whatever style you like. Rock out or play James Taylor you choose. I find myself amazed everytime. Tones of a guitar 4 times its cost. Amazing tones in the low eq range all the way up to clean high tones the ring like a bell without sounding tinny. Although it's unfinished everything is cut precise with an obvious quality. Instrument played like a dream out of the box. I can play all the way up the neck and play it hard without any rattles and tone is consistant.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Above and Beyond Expectations
By: Bluesman Sammy Guy      Submitted: 10/6/2011

Product Rating














It is a Taylor and seems to be well built. I like the satin finish which hides fingerprints and smudges.Neck joint it solid and the fretwork is impeccable. I only had a short time, but I have been playing for over 40 years. This seems built to be able to last. Your general opinion of this product. It is well built and a surprisingly easy to play guitar that is very comfortable to hold and play even over an extended period of time. I wanted an acoustic guitar that I could play while lounged out on my couch. I tried at least a dozen or more parlor guitars and the Baby Taylor and Little Martins, and the Mini GS is by far the superior guitar. I play for a living, and did not expect to gig with this, just knock around the house. But I think I am going to buy the pickup for it and use it on a gig next week. It makes me want to play the guitar all over again! I am thrilled with this. It has a well balanced feel, and the neck was smooth and fast.I have a Martin HD35 and a Gibson Les Paul and this neck is as comfortable if not moreso than either of the other two. I think I may retire the Martin...well, maybe not...but the Taylor is a very good guitar and feels great. It sounds almost as good as my $3000.00 Martin, and I am well pleased with the sound in every aspect. It sounds much better than any other guitar I compared it to in the same price range, including full sized ones. I play a lot of blues and this is perfect. Not dull or twangy sounding. It sounds 'real'. Especially compared to ANY other travel guitar. And believe me, I tested them all before plunking down the cash for this. Hey, times are tough, no need to waste money. And you won't waste a dime on this Taylor GS Mini. It is one of the best I ever played. The satin finish was flawless and there was not a single defect I could find. Action was just perfect. I play a Les Paul and the feel and action is very similar. Actually, the Taylor is a bit better. I changed nothing on this piece.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
The REAL Baby Taylor (ALL GROWED UP)
By: Mrgimme from Miami, FL      Submitted: 6/9/2011

Product Rating














Taylor don't make JUNK. Save some money somewhere else and step up to great tone in a compact package, the case makes you feel safe to take anywhere and I will. It just seems so solid and with its padded perfect fit gig bag (with backpack straps) I will have this the rest of my life. Your general opinion of this product. Love this guitar!!! If you search the net you will find a video of Bob Taylor saying how they built this guitar from everything they learned building the baby taylor and later the big baby. First this is not a toy with a set neck and 4 inch soundhole it just SINGS. Weigh more sound than you would expect out a guitar this size. Taylor quality control is top notch and I have been smiling ever since I opened the box! And I bought it on easy pay because it is painless compared to coughing up the full amount. Play fast, very light to hold. Very comfortable, damn I wish I was playin it instead of being at this computer! I would call the tone bright and more like a Martin than a Gibson, more emphasis on the treble mid range. Made in Mexico- I was leery because I once bought a telecaster from there that had a low e string to close to the edge of the fretboard. This guitar seemed like a robot built it because the finish was perfect everywhere that wood meets was perfect and the only thing that is noticeble is the ebony fretboard has a blond streak running up the b and the e, I think it adds character. Same with the Spruce top it has a grain pattern in the lower half. Hey my wife has a few things I'd like to change but I am keeping her too! Flawless. No buzz, and with the smaller fretboard you can play even a little easier because it does not require as much grip strength to make chords.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Perfectly Taylor
By: Mixpix      Submitted: 5/4/2011

Product Rating














Seemes very well made Havent had it long enough to know but seems solid Your general opinion of this product. I had to wait a bit but it was worthy it. I recieved it today and had a hard time of setting it down. Very nicely put together. Quality seems great and the sound is really pretty amazing. All in all Im completely happy with the purchase. Its a really comfortable guitar to play. Very light and is great just kicking back on the couch. I can see this as great for carring around anywhere. Very nice tone both on the highs and lows. I was very suprised. I like the finish on this guitar a lot. no scuffs no scratches. It a really nice light finish. The setup was great right out of the box. Tuned it up a bit and right off I went
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback