American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Laney IRT60H Ironheart Guitar Amplifier Head  -  LAN IRT60H LIST

IRT 60 H i love this thing
By: dave from sc      Submitted: 7/14/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I have only had this amp for about 3 weeks now so I cant say about its reliability but so far so good. I love the tones I can get out of this thing it is just BAD. And the looks of this thing are great. I waited a long time before I got one I wish that I had done it sooner. I am using it with two Line6 DT25 cab's that have Celestion G12H90 in them and they sound great together. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Seems to be ok so far I have had it for about 3 weeks. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It's an amp but it rocks. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? This thing sounds great. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? No paint but the finish looks good.
Laney IRT 60 Revisited
By: The Jazzydex from Butler, Kentucky      Submitted: 10/21/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I love this head, I would not necessarily say it is a metal head, but certainly can be with the right gear attached to it. Having had this in show situations for about 6 months or more now, it really can get the job done. For bedroom players and small clubs where a good PA is used, you probably won't need more than you get from this, my band however, plays exceptionally loud, and I find myself wishing I had gotten the 120. Our bass player has an 800 Watt rig, so this thing is cranked and I have to listen for it in the monitors, because I can't hear it on stage, that is using 2 4x12 cabs on stage with it. So if you are in a really loud band take the extra 150 and get the 120 watt head. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I bought this from AMS and it shipped from Nevada rather than New Jersey. Excellent head. I simply love the sounds of this amp. Nice covering, great look. I have had it a now for about 6 months and am still exceptionally pleased with the tones I can get out of it. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Here are a few specs about the "playability" and feel, first the heftiness, fairly heavy but not ungodly at 21KG or 46lbs. The controls are easy to get at, nice knobs, with push pull on Bass, Mid, Treble, for extra boosts. It can be bright and thin or good heavy chunk, you dial it in to your tastes, you can get it. It does have a good deal of gain, in a top 40 band, they say turn down the gain, in a metal band they say can you add some more gain to that. With the added pre-amp selected, the critics in the Metal arena are quieted. A word to the wise, don't switch the tube that uses the pre-amp, it has less gain than other tubes out there and at 1-2 with a Tungsol, it is too dirty to get a good articulate sound and can be muddy. keep the gain down with another brand, and it seems to be just fine. There is only a significant amount of feedback with the wattage knob turned to about 50 watts, use a good noise reducer there, and you will be all good. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone is much like I described all ready, it can be just about anything that you want it to be, some knobs seem to make more of an impression the harder you push the amp. Plenty of chunk or plenty of sparkle Action How was the action out of the box? No action on an amp, it would be cool if it did have an action though.... Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish is excellent. Not traditional tolex, seems like a heavy coated textured paint of some kind. I love it, banged it, not a problem. No torn fabric. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I have played this thing CRANKED, and I do mean, ALL available power, for the last 6 months, not a problem at all keeping up with me. Now, I am ready to get the 120 because this one is going into our practice area where I can use it with my bass players 300 watt amp.
My Review of Laney IRT60H
By: The Jazzydex from Butler, Kentucky      Submitted: 2/5/2013

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I bought this from AMS and it shipped from Nevada rather than New Jersey. Excellent head. I simply love the sounds of this amp. Nice covering, great look. I have had it a month and overall, I really like it. Reliability How has it stood up over time? So far so good after 1 month. General Your general opinion of this product. I love this head, I would not necessarily say it is a metal head, but gets great singing tone. Comes stock with Ruby tubes, for metal players you may want to switch it to TAD's, I did for a little while but found them a little too strong for the overall sound of the amp. I love the Ruby's tone much better! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It has an exceptional EQ section, which I have found to be really flexible. Great for all styles though maybe it is a GREAT hard rock amp. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Can be pretty much anything you can dial in. It was very easy for me to dial it in for my guitar. can be a little bright with the existing 12ax7s that are stock. I am planning on changing those over time to Preferred Series to mellow out any brightness. I have the treble set at -1 on both the rythm and lead channels. I love the addition of the boost function. Really nice! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Looks great! Action How was the action out of the box? No action on an Amp! :-)
This amp is AWESOME !
By: Mark in Portland from Portland OR      Submitted: 12/27/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I've only had mine for 5 months, but no any signe of a problem. I rehearse 1x a week and gig 3. Reliability How has it stood up over time? same as above General Your general opinion of this product. This amp has a great variety of tones. It's been kinda billed as a metal amp, but I get a great straight ahead rock tone as well...ad the clean channel is the best I've ever played...which shocked the hell outta me. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Very responsive...it's got the best EQ system I've ever owned. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I love the slightly strained break up of the old Larry Carlton 335 tone I get. The rock tones I like are fat, but not too over the top...but when you wanna get over the top. man it is there in spades. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Really well built. It's got a huge round transformer which I've been told are the best at keeping the power exactly where it needs to be. THis is a great rig, and seems to be one of the best kept secrets out there in amp world. Action How was the action out of the box? perfect
AWESOME, POWERFUL & AFFORDABLE TOO!
By: Jason from Easton, PA      Submitted: 12/27/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Bought this amp about 4 months ago..I have been gigging out with it constantly!! Has NOT let me down yet!! Built like a tank & So far it's EXTREMELY dependable!! Reliability How has it stood up over time? So far, so good! I am pretty hard on my equipment and this amp can take it!! General Your general opinion of this product. Great gain channels and even a GREAT clean channel!!?! (was very surprised by this on such a high gain amp!!) Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Whether you are playing with FULL out gain or clean..it is REALLY responsive to your playing!! And unlike some other "classic" amp companies, the tone controls actually WORK!!! The push/pull Features are incredible and I LOVE the wattage control feature!!(I can get that amazing creamy power tube distortion at ANY volume!!) Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Great tone!! Can get a very heavy tone, an amazing sparkling clean tone OR anything in between! I have been in the studio doing my guitar tracks and it is really the ONLY amp I need for ALL my tracking--Rhythm, Leads and clean! Sounds Fantastic!!! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Very "cool" looking amp...LOVE the red lights and the metal grill!! Action How was the action out of the box? Was able to dial in some AMAZING tones right out of the box!!! It was so easy to get a great sound out of this amp!! simply LOVE IT!!
Great tone
By: Old Rocker Dude from NY, NY      Submitted: 12/27/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made and awesome feature's. Very dependable so far. No issues whatsoever. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I've owned quite a few Laney products over the yr's and am a big fan of their tone. General Your general opinion of this product. A well built product that is dependable and can take abuse on the road. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Variable wattage control is amazing, especially for the studio. This feature is nice for smaller rooms as well. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Slammin' tone....the best distortion out there period. Great clean tone as well. Killer overdrive in between...not only high gain by any means. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Looks really ballsy and cool.
From a Whisper to a Scream
By: Spike Spiegel from New York, NY, United States      Submitted: 12/27/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This is arguably the best built amp I have owned to date. If this is in fact built overseas, Laney's quality control is second to none. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I have owned this amp since 2011 and it has yet to need any maintenance beyond a tube replacement General Your general opinion of this product. This is an amazing amplifier! The Ironheart's stellar clean channel was a revelation, especially considering that it was built for mainly for metal mayhem. That capability sets it apart from 100-plus-watt monsters with high-gain proclivities. Other amps may have more gain, but very few are as capable of such a beautifully wide range of tones at such an affordable price. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Clean, focused, punchy, and loud! This riff box has been the epitome of versatility! The control sets are all about delivering tweakability that should be able satisfy the most serious tone obsessives. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? In my opinion, aesthetics are almost as important as sound, and the Ironheart is the coolest looking amp I've ever seen! Amps are usually boring looking black boxes, but the Ironheart manages to look just as awesome as it sounds! The internal red glow from the LED lights look sick both on stage and in my house!
Great amp! Tried them all and this is it!!!
By: Hofman Chicago from Chicago, IL      Submitted: 12/27/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I have had the Laney Ironheart for several months. Gig 3 times per week and no issues! Clean is amazing, and the dirty channels can get me any sound from classic rock, blues to heaviest metal! Reliability How has it stood up over time? No issues and plenty of gigs! General Your general opinion of this product. I tried Marshall, Blacktar, Hughes and Kettner, and just about everything. This was the BEST bang for the buck and love my tone. I play clubs and festivals and record and have owned dozens of amps. This is the best deal and sound for the money hands down Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? tube amp-feel applies! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Can do it all and the most tones available from any amp out there in any price range. I love it! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Great look and build quality is very well and zero issues!
Complete Tone Machine
By: jmt2112@yahoo.com from flushing NY      Submitted: 12/27/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Exceptional quality and durability. I am currently playing gigs and recording with it. Reliability How has it stood up over time? So far it has been bullet proof General Your general opinion of this product. Have completely enjoyed this amp. Will be purchasing another very soon. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Great heavy tones but with a suprisingly good clean channel. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Dark but with a tight, focused low end. Exceptional clean channel as well. Very versatile EQ section Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Amp looks great when it is lit up Action How was the action out of the box? Everything worked great right out of the box
Hoped for more
By: Dr.Rex Masters from SLC.      Submitted: 12/16/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Quality it there for a Chinese made amp. Reliability How has it stood up over time? This is a problem. The lights burn out every month. Makes me question what else is going to burn out next. General Your general opinion of this product. Cheap Chinese made crap. Do not waste your money buy a Marshall be happy the first time. First Laney amp that I own that is made in China and it shows. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Sounds very muddy, the hotter your pickups the more it sounds like crap. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Looks great when the lights work.
Loading....